Kalangadog Junction

BBC Radio 2 comedy drama about a couple who emigrate to Australia. 6 episodes (1 series) in 1996. Stars Caroline Quentin, John Duttine, Niall Ashdown, Toby Longworth and others.

Series 1

1. Episode One

First broadcast: Tuesday 27th February 1996

Dr Thomas and Mrs Jane Barrett leave the comfy security of 1950s Manchester and head down-under to a town so remote it's not even on the map - Kalangadog Junction in Australia.


2. Episode Two

First broadcast: Tuesday 5th March 1996

After arriving from 1950s Manchester, Dr Thomas and Jane Barrett are finally making headway in the remote town of Kalangadog Junction. But his appointment as judge of the Beautiful Baby Contest risks offending his new Aussie neighbours.


3. Episode Three

First broadcast: Tuesday 12th March 1996

1956: It's a big week in the junction as everyone prepares to go to the movies, and the Australian town witnesses a version of On the Waterfront unlike any other...


4. Episode Four

First broadcast: Tuesday 19th March 1996

Len takes over Gaelene's Olympic training schedule - a recipe for trouble with Madge. Meanwhile, Thomas and Jane endeavour to find some time for romance.


5. Episode Five

First broadcast: Tuesday 26th March 1996

Jane is in turmoil when her mum and ex-fiance reappear. But that's nothing compared to what's in store for Gaelene at her farewell barbecue.


6. Episode Six

First broadcast: Tuesday 2nd April 1996

Will Jane be able to refuse a new proposal? Will Gaelene's gold medal dreams come true?