Comedy Women In Print to launch Comedy Short Story Prize

Wednesday 15th June 2022, 10:36am

  • The Comedy Women In Print competition is adding a Comedy Short Story Prize for 2022
  • The shortlisted entries will be published by Farrago Books in a special anthology in September 2023
  • Entry for all the Comedy Women In Print (CWIP) categories opens 5th September 2022
Comedy Women In Print Prize

Farrago Books has joined forces with Helen Lederer's Comedy Women In Print (CWIP) to curate The Comedy Short Story Prize, the first award celebrating the funniest short story writing by women.


The shortlisted entries will also be published by Farrago in a special anthology in September 2023. The publisher has previously released Gabby Hutchinson Crouch - Wish You Weren't Here and Ian Moore - Death And Croissants.

This is the newest addition to CWIP's annual published and unpublished prizes and is set to "showcase even more of the wittiest wit written by women" - this time in a shorter form of between 5,000-15,000 words per story.

Pete Duncan, publisher of Farrago, says: "What Helen has created with CWIP is extraordinary and we could not be more thrilled now to be adding our part. The biggest half of our mission at Farrago is to champion the work of funny women writers!"

Helen Lederer says: "The aim of CWIP has always been to enable unpublished witty authors as well as big up the best witty published talent in the land - now I can entice some CWIP stars to include their own short stories in the resulting anthology and set the bar high... what a Christmas present!"

CWIP, now in its fourth successful year, recognises, celebrates, and encourages witty women authors. The Unpublished Comedy Novel prize each year is a book deal with HarperCollins. Entry for all the categories opens 5th September 2022, with the closing date for submissions set for 14th October 2022. The Longlist for all categories will be announced on 14 December 2022 and the Shortlist on 22 February 2023.

All shortlisted authors for the Comedy Short Story prize will receive from Farrago £100, and the winner will be awarded a further £1,000.

The competition is open to female (identified) authors, including non-binary, writing in the English language, of any nationality over the age of 18.

For more details and full terms and conditions visit

BCG Pro logo

This article is provided for free as part of BCG Pro.

Subscribe now for exclusive features, insight, learning materials, opportunities and other tools for the British comedy industry.

Lee Mack

Big Comedy Conference 2024

Insight, updates and wisdom from leading industry figures including writers, commissioners, agents and producers.

London, Saturday 16th March.

Book your ticket now