Live Comedy

Liam Withnail: Chronic Boom

Liam Withnail. Credit: Rebecca Need-Menear
Stand-up
  • 29th Mar 2024 - 10th May 2024

At the start of 2022, Liam believed himself to be able bodied and healthy. He lived a "normal" life, ate whatever he wanted, and was even training for a marathon. Then he was diagnosed with Ulcerative Colitis (a type of inflammatory bowel disease) and in October 2022 a "flare" saw him spending 10 days in hospital.

Coming to terms with the fact he could be suddenly hospitalised at any time, which would mean cancelling work-in-progress shows, Liam knew he would have to find a new way of testing his new material. Planning for the worst case scenario, Liam set about creating a show made up of ten distinct five minute routines (one for each day of that first hospital stay) which could be finessed at new material nights. This functional technique also underpins the narrative arc of this illuminating show, demonstrating how people with chronic illness or disabilities have to make changes every day just to try to live a "normal" life.

2024 dates

8pm, Friday 29th March: The Stand, Glasgow (as part of Glasgow Comedy Festival)
9pm, Monday 8th - Wednesday 10th April: Soho Theatre, London
7pm, Thursday 11th April: Hot Water Comedy Club, Liverpool
8pm, Saturday 13th April: Perth Theatre
7pm, Sunday 14th April: Aberdeen Lemon Tree
8pm, Wednesday 17th April: Brighton Komedia
8pm, Thursday 18th April: The Attic, Southampton
7:30pm, Friday 19th April: The Junction, Cambridge
8pm, Saturday 20th April: Monkey Barrel, Edinburgh
8pm, Thursday 2nd May: Alma Tavern, Bristol
8pm, Tuesday 7th May: The Frog & Bucket, Manchester
Wednesday 8th May: Hyde Park Book Club, Leeds
8:30pm, Thursday 9th May: The Stand, Newcastle
8:30pm, Friday 10th May: The Glee Club, Birmingham

Press

  1. 27th April: Liam Withnail: "It's hard being a stand-up comedian when you poo 15 times a day" (Metro)
  2. 27th March: Liam Withnail interview (The Wee Review)
  3. 14th March: The Skinny on... Liam Withnail (The Skinny)
  4. 21st November: Liam Withnail to embark on first UK tour
This show was also performed at the 2023 Edinburgh Fringe. Listing

Share this page