Who knows?

INT. PETROL SERVICE STATION - NIGHT

CUSTOMER ENTERS AND WALKS UP TO THE TILL

CUSTOMER
Pump 6 please.

CUSTOMER puts his credit card on the counter

ATTENDANT picks up credit card and looks at it as he puts it in the chip and pin machine.

POV of ATTENDANT - Name on credit card: Dr T Stockton

ATTENDANT
Doctor eh?

CUSTOMER nods

ATTENDANT
It's just that I've been getting these shooting pains in the back of my neck.

ATTENDANT puts hand to neck and rubs it.

CUSTOMER
Ah, actually, I'm a Doctor of Philosophy

ATTENDANT
Oh.
ATTENDANT looks down and the chip and pin machine (beat) looks back up.

Why are we here?

I like this one Pablo. :)

I don't think the written word does it justice though and think that with a good acting performace timing wise from the attendent, with him doing the pause before the gear change punch line, (which is how I understand it to be) then that would show it to be so much better.

Cheers iamazed!
You're right of course, half arsed acting wouldn't cut it and there'd need to be a bit of emphasis on the word 'are'.

i liked it, but i think it would be much better if the attendant said something like
"i have a nasty, itchy rash on my chest" then lifts his/hers (it would be better with a her) shirt up, this would make it more awkward for the attendant and for the doctor, plus if there was a que in the station it would be a lot more visually funny, but these are just my thoughts but as i said i liked this one

I really enjoyed it but think a more complexly-worded question from the attendant would make it slightly better...

===============

CUSTOMER

ATTENDANT
(LAUGHS) Oh, sorry I see. (PAUSE). Can anything truly be described as simply 'good' or 'evil' or is everything just shades of grey in this context?

CHIP & PIN MACHINE BEEPS LOUDLY.

ENDS.

===============

Just a suggestion, though, I really enjoyed it as it was :)

Appreciate the input guys, and Scott T, I think you're right - how about this (more focused ending):

CUSTOMER