Any help for a Scriptwring Student?

Hello people,

My name is Stefan Armitage, and I'm a MA in Scriptwriting student at Bath Spa University.
I am currently in the process of writing a paper about how new writers break into the television industry, with the primary focus being on Sitcom and Comedy-Drama.
Are there any people here who have had any experience submitting scripts/producing scripts/editing scripts etc.
I would really appreciate if people could answer some questions I have on writing comedy for the TV industry.

Thanking you!

Morning. If you go through the relevant threads you'll find several here who write for the Beeb and the odd BBC editor and producer. Maybe you could PM them?

For a general overview of opinion on the subject tho, if that's good enough for your thesis (and I don't think it should be overlooked), scan these and the sitcom threads for the damning view on how the Beeb are blatantly ignoring fresh writing talent (and rejecting established writing talent) to pander to their trendy new friends in standup.

If you're able to fully follow this lead (and you should) please send copies of your thesis to BBC bigwigs and The Spectator. There are a few publications waiting for an indepth study on this to publish.

:D

Since we didn't go to university, we do not understand the meaning of this word "survey". We understand it has something to do with getting someone else to do the work? And for some reason not pay them?

It's not too late to go to University Paul, don't put yourself down. Intelligence and application are all that is required (A loan from the bank is available too nowadays just for this purpose). Sometimes it's just ourselves holding ourselves back. The trick to to make a change. Make things happen for you!

I am, and it involves not doing free surveys!