Help needed to identify vintage comedy recordings

Hi all,

I recently discovered at a flee market and 1965 Akai x-100d reel to reel player with 24 tapes. Anyway, I'm slowly working my way through them and there are many recordings of comedy sketches.

In the main, I'm unable to identify them, but most appear to be British radio recordings so I've started a series of videos on one of my channels playing a few minutes from each recording to see if anybody recognises them. I hope you will take a look (and listen) to the first here and let me know your ideas :O)

Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Rm8BlTl--w

Best regards, and enjoy,

Steve

Phil Silvers?

Quote: Pingl @ December 18 2012, 4:09 PM GMT

Phil Silvers?

That's what I thought it could be after listening to a while, but I'm no expert so thought I'd put it up. You never know, if it is him, somebody may know the recording :O)

I'm pretty sure it is not Phil Silvers (voice not high pitched enough) and sounds as those it was recorded at one of those Jewish hotel/cabaret summer shows from one of the Borscht Belt ( or Jewish Alps as it was lovingly called) resorts in the Catskill Mountains.

Sorry to not be more positive, but my suggestions for voice comparison would be:-

Sid Caesar, Red Skelton, Art Carney, Jackie Gleason, Shelley Berman or Milton Berle OR (unfortunately!!) a resident comedian who never made it big.

Need to hear a lot more of the tape please!

I also thought it sounded like Phil Silvers. But I know bugger all about that era of comedy. (Not very useful.)

I do know Silvers had his own radio show, possibly from that? But there were a large number of comics of that type around at the time, it's pretty hard to tell from that short clip.

The voice sounds a little like Henny Youngman, but the jokes aren't quickfire enough, or sharp enough.

George Jessel? Not sure ... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=07iv2TDhjvI

Quote: Hercules Grytpype Thynne @ December 18 2012, 5:27 PM GMT