UK Muslim Comedy Tour Page 2

There's nothing wrong with 'merely' advertising, so long as it's related to comedy.

Hi
Thanks for your comments, You are entitled to your opinion.
If you watch all the videos properly they actually attack the stereotypical views of Muslims, it's comedy, not serious.
Yes my intention is to hopefully advertise to sell tickets so that we can raise more funds.

I am not a comedy expert. I put this show togather to entertain and to raise funds.

The show is clean fun comedy, and I hope you all will enjoy it.

Quote: Jack Daniels @ July 4 2011, 2:00 AM BST

Hi PYCT,

thanks for adressing my points. Just checked out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8DOlwLs9unA hoping to eat my own words and to see a routine that wouldn't simply be a checklist of cliched observations and in fact be funny regardless.

And?

Use of the word Muslim 20 seconds in? Check.
Reference to "my white friends" Check.
Crass upper-class accent to immitate "white friends"? Check.
Reference to burkha? Check.
Reference to the P-word? Check.

This was all in the first couple of minutes so I turned it off. Not my thing.

I'm not some stonewall atheist, I just think it's a hack and narrow topic to base a tour around. The UK Catholic Comedy tour would make me feel the same way, as would The UK Sikh Comedy Tour or The UK Buddhist Comedy Tour.

And if you aren't just posting to sell some tickets and promote YouTube channels, and I'm wrong, and you in fact stick around and offer critiques, advice and debates within other threads, then I'll apologise for assuming you're intent on merely advertising.

C'mon there are Jewish comics, black comics, disabled comics, gay comics. Stand-up has always been used by minority groups as a way of introducing themselves to the wider society, defending themselves, reclaiming their name.

Secondly there are also sorts of single issue types using these forums for advertising etc. You're singling out the Muslims but not the Sitcom Trials.