The Sitcom Mission 2011 Page 98

Quote: the word girl @ March 24 2011, 8:22 AM GMT

Nope. It's not, least not for me. I already work as a writer and scriptwriter. It's my career. I know I'm a good writer across a number of genres, and I have faith in my abilities. However, this was one of my first forays into sitcom writing, and I want as much pertinent feedback about it as possible in order to progress. It's not just about the winning, guys. :)

Well said Word Girl. My sentiments entirely. I would like to know where I came in the ranking as well because if my script was not considered to show promise I would start again in another direction. Rejection is not nice but it's something we have to take on the chin if the work is going to be successful. Feedback and criticism is important in helping develop the writer. Going around with rose tinted glasses on isn't going to get work published. There are a lot of good writers out there and I want to be one of them.

P.S. Just a thought - but could this anti-position stance be a gender thing? Huh?

Maybe it's better to think that you came bottom of the pile. Therefore you have to concentrate on improving your script as much as possible. If you came 33rd then you might think "well I'm almost there" and only (bear in mind I said might) put a little more effort in thinking that you've nearly cracked it.

The laziness and complacency can wait until you've got a couple of successful series behind you, put all your effort in now.

Quote: sean knight @ March 24 2011, 10:08 AM GMT

Maybe it's better to think that you came bottom of the pile. Therefore you have to concentrate on improving your script as much as possible. If you came 33rd then you might think "well I'm almost there" and only (bear in mind I said might) put a little more effort in thinking that you've nearly cracked it.

The laziness and complacency can wait until you've got a couple of successful series behind you, put all your effort in now.