The Peter Principle

Hi, I'm foreign but I'm an expert and fanatic of British sitcoms. Recently downloaded this fantastic The Peter Principle (or The Boss), made back in 1995-1997. Sadly only two series made. It's a marvelous sitcom because it's simple, with Broadbent, Skinner and (Bradley) superb comedy timing. What astonishes me is the change in writer-cast between first and second series. The first writer was the truly genius and the cast was excellent. Then in the second series they put pathetic actors among the bank staff, plus complicated and unlikely situations that affected the series magic.

I wish I could meet its writer or BBC people responsible and ask him/her:
"Aren't you ashamed of the poor result you acomplished?"
"Did you manage to find work after that?"

Cheers.
luis

You should fit right in around here

:)

I remember really liking The Peter Principle when it was on, but I'm not sure I saw all of it. That must have been the first series, clearly...

Dan

Having a quick look at the credits, it seems to have some of the most successful names in British comedy behind it, so I guess they did find work after it!

I've not seen the series yet. Maybe will stick some on tonight.

It was pretty MOR, fairly harmless, just never hugely funny. Obviously had the massively talented Jim Broadbent in it, but also (IIRC) the lovely Claire Skinner.. and David Schneider of all people?! :O

Quote: Aaron @ December 2 2009, 1:43 PM GMT

Having a quick look at the credits, it seems to have some of the most successful names in British comedy behind it, so I guess they did find work after it!

I've not seen the series yet. Maybe will stick some on tonight.

You are right, of course...I was joking.
It's just the first series so massively better than second series, obviously done by different writers.

Any suggestions of sitcoms to watch?
I can get any. Here is a list of the ones I've already seen (though not complete):