Mike Cox wins Not So New Comedian Of The Year 2022

Sunday 8th May 2022, 11:45am

Mike Cox

Mike Cox has won the Not So New Comedian Of The Year competition.

The live final took place last night (Saturday 7th May) at London's Museum Of Comedy, in a show hosted by Andrea Hubert. Each act had five minutes on stage.

The judges picked Mags as runner-up with Rick Kiesewetter coming third.

Unlike new act competitions, this competition is aimed at acts who have been gigging for a while but have yet to have a big break. The show's blurb explains: "Forget cheery optimism and skinny jeans. At last, a competition for comics who've been around long enough to know better. Expect a high standard and a hint of world weary cynicism as 100 not so new acts compete for the title of Not So New Comedian of the Year. The old ones are the best!"

The other finalists were Ali Brice, Angus Dunican, Cathal O'Riordan, Emily McQuade, Ian Lane, Jan Jack, Kelly Ford, Mad Ron and Peter Bazely.

Cox, whose set focused on supermarket shopping, was awarded £250.

Meanwhile at the Bernie Grant Arts Centre in Tottenham the NATYS competition - previously known as the Hackney Empire New Act Of The Year - took place. Viggo Venn was picked as the winner, with Roman Harris and Dan Wye the runners up.

Share this page