Waiting For God. Image shows from L to R: Diana Trent (Stephanie Cole), Tom Ballard (Graham Crowden). Copyright: BBC.

Waiting For God

BBC One sitcom about a pair of ageing delinquents in a retirement home. 47 episodes (5 series), 1990 - 1994. Stars Graham Crowden, Stephanie Cole, Daniel Hill, Janine Duvitski and others.

Series 2, Episode 9 is repeated on Drama on Monday at 6pm.

Series 5

1. Episode One

First broadcast: Thursday 8th September 1994

When Tom's hospitalised, Marion and Harvey are convinced he's on the way out. Unfortunately for them he's only had a relatively minor procedure. However, Diana talks Geoffrey into leaving his wife. Maybe once and for all?


2. Episode Two

First broadcast: Thursday 15th September 1994

Marion's outraged when she sobers up and - after 4 weeks - realises that Geoffrey has left her. Harvey's latest plans for Bayview expansion in a Japanese style hit a distinctly Diana-shaped bump.


3. Episode Three

First broadcast: Thursday 22nd September 1994

Diana's exasperated by Tom's patriotism and reverence when Harvey excitedly reveals that Bayview is expecting a royal visit. But at least it offers another chance to punish the idiot Bains.


4. Episode Four

First broadcast: Thursday 29th September 1994

Jane, still reeling from his tryst with Marion, turns down the one thing she has always craved - a proposal of marriage from Harvey. Meanwhile, Diana reacts less than positively to a diagnosis of diabetes.


5. Episode Five

First broadcast: Thursday 6th October 1994

Marion's hysterical with lust for Fat Boy Higgins, flatly refusing to accept that he was in fact Geoffrey. At Bayview, Diana's rushed to hospital after collapsing at Tom's shock proposal of marriage, and Jane's pursuing her newfound desire to become a bride of Christ.


6. Episode Six

First broadcast: Thursday 13th October 1994

Love is in the air at Bayview. Harvey steps up his efforts to woo Jane by becoming ordained, whilst Tom is relentless in his pursuit of Diana's fair hand, even taking driving lessons.


7. Episode Seven

First broadcast: Thursday 20th October 1994

On the verge of a bungee jump, Tom finally secures Diana's agreement to marry him. She is far from amused at his blackmailing antics. Harvey's more concerned with his continued efforts to join the golf club.


8. Episode Eight

First broadcast: Thursday 27th October 1994

The wedding date is now quickly approaching, with both Tom and Diana and Harvey and Jane's nuptials on the same day. Marion's determined to stop them happening, Diana's no more enthusiastic, Jane's still virginal, and Tom ... well, he's off on his stag night.


Buy Series 5