British Comedy Guide
TLC. Image shows from L to R: Dr. Laurence Flynn (Reece Shearsmith), Mr. Benedict Ron (Richard Griffiths), Dr. Stephen Noble (Alexander Armstrong)


  • TV sitcom
  • BBC Two
  • 2002
  • 6 episodes (1 series)

Surreal sitcom set inside a dysfunctional London NHS hospital following a neurotic, bumbling, shy junior house surgeon. Stars Reece Shearsmith, Alexander Armstrong, Richard Griffiths, Georgia Mackenzie, Llewella Gideon and more.


Episode menu

Series 1, Episode 4 - Three Stars

South Middlesex loses all three of its NHS ratings stars, and Flynn and Noble are charged with restoring the hospital to its former status - with predictable results.

Further details

South Middlesex has lost all of its NHS stars because of bed blocking, long waiting lists and a huge queue of casualty trolleys. Laurence is set the task of sorting out the bed blockers and thus must treat a lady with a chronic leg ulcer using Maggot Debridement Therapy. So he better be sure that he uses the right maggots!

Meanwhile a little surprise is in store for Sister Hope when she receives a card from a secret admirer.

Broadcast details

Monday 2nd December 2002
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Reece Shearsmith Dr. Laurence Flynn
Alexander Armstrong Dr. Stephen Noble
Richard Griffiths Mr. Benedict Ron
Georgia Mackenzie Nurse Judy Conway
Llewella Gideon Sister Charity Hope
Erich Redman Gasman
Benedict Wong Terry Cheung
Martin Trenaman The Wheelchair Man
Tom Watt Sid Potter
Tim Brooke-Taylor Reverend
Guest cast
Paul Putner Chef
Marsha Millar Mrs Howard
Sue Elliott-Nicholls Midwife
Steve Varnom Patient in Corridor
Jean Trend Patient in Corridor
Nicholas Amer Patient in Corridor
Julie Foulds Mrs Stanley
Connie M'Gadzah ICU Cleaner
Writing team
Fintan Coyle Writer
Production team
Geoff Posner Director
Geoff Posner Producer
David Tyler Producer
Jed Leventhall Associate Producer
Mark Wybourn Editor
Les Stephenson Production Designer
Tracey Gillham Casting Director
Anna Stubley Costume Designer
Rob Kitzmann Director of Photography
Diane Chenery-Wickens Make-up Designer
Pete Baikie Composer
Willie Dowling Composer
Ron Simpson Costume Designer
Xanthia White Make-up Designer
Nick Rae 1st Assistant Director

Share this page