This Is Going To Hurt. Adam (Ben Whishaw)
This Is Going To Hurt

This Is Going To Hurt

  • TV comedy drama
  • BBC One
  • 2022
  • 7 episodes (1 series)

Comedy drama series based on Adam Kay's book about his time as a junior doctor. Also features Ben Whishaw, Ambika Mod, Alex Jennings, Rory Fleck Byrne, Michele Austin and more.

  • JustWatch Streaming rank this week: 904

Episode menu

Series 1, Episode 6

This Is Going To Hurt. Shruti (Ambika Mod)
Heartbroken Adam does his first shift at a posh private hospital and finds that it's not all it's cracked up to be. Shruti has a challenging night shift on the NHS Ward.

Further details

Adam tries to get his life back on track with a well-paid night shift in a fancy private hospital.

But things aren't as rosy as they seem outside the NHS and when his well-heeled patient runs into problems, Adam faces a critical emergency without the tools to deal with it.

Shruti has a tough nightshift ahead in an understaffed NHS, but despite the mounting pressure and increasing isolation, will she finally come into her own?

Broadcast details

Tuesday 15th March 2022
50 minutes


Cast & crew

Ben Whishaw Adam
Ambika Mod Shruti
Alex Jennings Mr Lockhart
Rory Fleck Byrne Harry
Michele Austin Tracy
Ashley McGuire Ms Houghton
Tom Durant-Pritchard Greg
Philippa Dunne Ria
Josie Walker Non-Reassuring Trace
Guest cast
Harriet Walter Veronique
Grace Cookey-Gam Arnie
Alice Orr-Ewing Emma
Bally Gill Dave
Muki Zubis Anaesthetist
Heather Coombs Supermarket Supervisor
Anil Goutam Shruti's Dad
Mita Rahman Shruti's Mum
Lucy Russell Serena
George Somner Al
Jade Johnson Patient
Helen Phillips Patient
Sara Hazemi Patient
Angelica Sacrepaye Patient
Nansi Nsue Patient
Harki Bhambra Huck
Sophie Winkleman Kathleen
Katie Mulgrew Cesarean Patient
Paul Foulds Priest
Christopher Logan A&E Registrar
Kaleem Janjua (as Kalim Janjua) Elderly Hindi Patient
Jonathan Jaynes Briana's Dad
Sophie Ormond Briana
Bella Heesom ODP
Ella Dacres Paramedic
Writing team
Adam Kay Writer
Production team
Tom Kingsley Director
Holly Pullinger Producer
Naomi De Pear Executive Producer
Mona Qureshi Executive Producer
Adam Kay Executive Producer
James Farrell Executive Producer
Jane Featherstone Executive Producer
Ben Whishaw Executive Producer
Piers Wenger Executive Producer
Geraldine Hawkins Line Producer
Lucy Forbes Associate Producer
Jo Walker Editor
Dick Lunn Production Designer
Nina Gold Casting Director
Martin Ware Casting Director
Emma Rees Costume Designer
Niamh Morrison Make-up Designer
Jarvis Cocker Composer
Serafina Steer Composer
Chris Barber Graphics
Alex Streeter 1st Assistant Director
Joseph Stracey Sound Designer

Share this page