The Upper Hand. Image shows from L to R: Joanna Burrows (Kellie Bright), Laura West (Honor Blackman), Charlie Burrows (Joe McGann), Tom Wheatley (William Puttock), Caroline Wheatley (Diana Weston).

The Upper Hand

ITV sitcom about two families. 95 episodes (7 series), 1990 - 1996. Stars Joe McGann, Diana Weston, Honor Blackman, Kellie Bright and William Puttock.

Series 2, Episode 1 - Common Entrance

Jo has her heart set on a scholarship to elite boarding school St. Hilda's, and with a few strings pulled by Caroline she's sure to get in. Charlie, however, is nowhere near as enthusiastic.

Broadcast details

Monday 18th February 1991
30 minutes


    Cast & crew

    Regular cast
    Joe McGann Charlie Burrows
    Diana Weston Caroline Wheatley
    Honor Blackman Laura West
    Kellie Bright Joanna Burrows
    William Puttock Tom Wheatley
    Guest cast
    Janet Henfrey Dorothy Cooper (Headmistress)
    Deddie Davies Mrs. Olive (Teacher with slide show)
    Joanna Hall Camilla
    Jennifer Croxton Parent
    Bill Bingham Parent
    Robin Browne Parent
    Tim Meats Parent
    Writing team
    Greg Freeman Writer (Adapted By)
    Tom Seeley Writer
    Norm Gunzenhauser Writer
    Production team
    Martin Dennis Director
    Christopher Walker Producer
    Nigel Miller Editor
    Tony Ferris Production Designer
    Debbie Wiseman Composer

    Supporters and subscribers get more

    Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

    • Broadcast details of 5 past repeats of this episode

    Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

    Already a donor or Pro user?