The Smoking Room. Robin (Robert Webb). Copyright: BBC.

The Smoking Room

BBC Three sitcom set in an office. 17 episodes (2 series), 2004 - 2005. Stars Robert Webb, Paula Wilcox, Debbie Chazen, Nadine Marshall and others.

Series 2, Episode 1 - Bzzzzzzzzz

An angry bee causes growing panic in the smoking room.

Further details

Janet's nephew, Dominic (Mathew Horne), is conducting a psychological study into workplace dynamics for his university thesis.

As a basis for this, Janet has suggested that he shadow Robin for a day - a day he is now doomed to spend entirely in the smoking room.

The rest of the smokers do their best to ignore him, a task they find easier after they detect the presence of another intruder in the room - an angry bee.

As he witnesses the growing panic spreading around him, it's clear to Dominic that he's not perhaps in the best place to advance his university studies.

Broadcast details

Tuesday 26th July 2005
BBC Three
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Robert Webb Robin
Paula Wilcox Lilian
Debbie Chazen Annie
Nadine Marshall Sally
Selina Griffiths Janet
Leslie Schofield Len
Fraser Ayres Clint
Siobhan Redmond Sharon
Emma Kennedy Heidi
Guest cast
Mathew Horne Dominic
Writing team
Brian Dooley Writer
Production team
Gareth Carrivick Director
Pete Thornton (as Peter Thornton) Producer
Sophie Clarke-Jervoise Executive Producer
Micheál Jacob Executive Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see production designer, production manager, editor & director of photography credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?