The Liver Birds. Image shows from L to R: Beryl Hennessey (Polly James), Sandra Hutchinson (Nerys Hughes). Copyright: BBC.

The Liver Birds

BBC One sitcom about two young women. 86 episodes (pilot + 10 series), 1969 - 1996. Stars Nerys Hughes, Polly James, Elizabeth Estensen, Pauline Collins and others.

The Liver Birds - Complete Collection One & Two

The Liver Birds - Complete Collection One & Two

From the ground-breaking comedic pen of Carla Lane (Solo/Bread/Butterflies) and Myra Taylor.

Polly James is Beryl and Nerys Hughes is Sandra in The Liver Birds. Beryl and Sandra are flatmates - room-mates really, given the size of their accommodation - in 1970s Liverpool. With a rivalry and friendship that bounces off the screen, the bed and the couch, the two girls grapple with boyfriends, bigger flats, smaller dogs, unaffordable holidays, sisters' weddings, challenging parents and feisty old grandads, all while having the time of their lives.

In addition to all 25 episodes from Series 2 and 3, this release features a new and exclusive interview with Polly James and Nerys Hughes, giving insight into the love, the laughter, and how they made it all happen. From the unforgettable hit theme tune by The Scaffold to the laugh-a-minute scripts and pitch-perfect performances, The Liver Birds lights up the screen as bright and beautiful as the city that inspired it.

Collection One comprises the complete second series of The Liver Birds in transmission order. The original pilot and the four episodes that made up Series One are missing, believed wiped.

Collection Two comprises the complete third series, also in broadcast order.

First released: Monday 26th October 2015


  • Distributor: Acorn Media
  • Region: 2
  • Discs: 4
  • Minutes: 719
  • Subtitles: English
  • Catalogue: AV3284

musicMagpie Buy and sell old and new items
Search for this product on eBay

More The Liver Birds products