The Larkins. Image shows from L to R: Ada Larkins (Peggy Mount), Alf Larkins (David Kossoff). Copyright: Associated Television.

The Larkins

ITV sitcom about a family. 40 episodes (6 series), 1958 - 1964. Stars Peggy Mount, David Kossoff, Ronan O'Casey, Ruth Trouncer and Shaun O'Riordan.

Series 1, Episode 1 - Wide Open House

Ada insists on throwing a lavish party, no matter the cost, in celebration of Eddie's leaving the army after his National Service comes to an end. But half way through the night, the Military Police knock on the front door...

Further details

Alf becomes a tad skittish when he discovers that Ada's laying on a far-too-expensive party for Eddie's demob from his National Service. After all, it's hardly hail, hail the conquering hero - he's been working at the War Office for two years and comes home at weekends!

Broadcast details

Friday 19th September 1958
45 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Peggy Mount Ada Larkins
David Kossoff Alf Larkins
Ronan O'Casey Jeff Rogers
Ruth Trouncer Joyce Rogers
Shaun O'Riordan Eddie Larkins
Guest cast
Hilary Bamberger Myrtle Prout
Frank Williams Artist
Frank Pendlebury Harry
Tom Payne Little Man
Fred McNaughton Military Policeman
Peter Hughes Military Policeman
Writing team
Fred Robinson Writer
Production team
Bill Ward Director
Bill Ward Producer
Pembroke Duttson Production Designer
Jackie Brown Composer