The Kids From 47A

Sitcom. 42 episodes (3 series), 1973 - 1975.

The Kids From 47A - The Complete First Series

The Kids From 47A - The Complete First Series

Leave a family of children aged between eight and 16 to run a flat on their own, and what happens? Can they cope without adult assistance? Should they be left to muddle through alone, or would they be happier and safer in the care of the local authority?

Just how the Gathercole family - Jess (at 16 the matriarch), Binny (14), Willy (12) and George (9) - manages to survive in such circumstances is the premise of this major children's series broadcast in the early 1970s. Starting from the time their widowed mother is suddenly taken into hospital and later, after her death, The Kids From 47A chronicles four very different siblings overcoming a multitude of problems and misfortunes - sometimes dramatic, sometimes full of humour.

The Kids From 47A was the brainchild of Black Beauty actress Charlotte Mitchell, and its high-calibre writing team include Brookside and Hollyoaks creator Phil Redmond, novelist Lynda La Plante and noted screenwriter John Kane.

Special features:
Image gallery
Promotional material PDF

First released: Monday 14th October 2013

  • Distributor: Network
  • Region: 2
  • Discs: 2
  • Catalogue: 7953948

musicMagpie Buy and sell old and new items
Search for this product on eBay