The Howerd Confessions. Frankie (Frankie Howerd). Copyright: Thames Television.

The Howerd Confessions

ITV sitcom starring Frankie Howerd. 6 episodes (1 series) in 1976. Stars Frankie Howerd.

Series 1

1. Episode One

First broadcast: Thursday 2nd September 1976

The confessions to end all confessions - from the irrepressible Frankie. The time when he nearly got married... what happened to Godfrey the cat ... who is Mrs. Umpleby? What was in the chilli con carne? The whole truth and nothing but the truth - starting tonight.


2. Episode Two

First broadcast: Thursday 9th September 1976

More comic confessions as Frankie reveals: "My secret work with the French Resistance... How I hoodwinked the Germans... How my George Formby impressions helped to win World War Two."


3. Episode Three

First broadcast: Thursday 16th September 1976

The story of Frankie's brush with the National Health Service is revealed for the first time. It's a not-so-healthy sign for almost everyone else in the hospital when Frankie arrives for an operation - and soon causes complete chaos. Finally, in attempting to discharge himself, he comes a cropper in more ways than one.


4. Episode Four

First broadcast: Thursday 23rd September 1976

Tonight, the saga of Howerd the criminal, detected by an alert police force, identified by Mrs. Beachum, the victim, and indicted by the full majesty of the law...


5. Episode Five

First broadcast: Thursday 30th September 1976

How did Frankie come to be in possession of a stolen grandfather clock? What got Sgt. Hardman's goat? See how Frankie was trapped by the amorous Eve. All this and more is revealed.


6. Episode Six

First broadcast: Thursday 7th October 1976

In the last of the series, the saga of Private Eye Howerd. Watch as he reveals the secret of Mr. Parsley's love nest. Boggle as he tries to pierce the the veil to the Great Beyond. Who is the Red Ferret? What happened to Emmanuelle in the attic? ...All is revealed! Nothing is held back!