The Green Green Grass. Image shows from L to R: Boycie (John Challis), Marlene Boyce (Sue Holderness). Copyright: Shazam Productions.

The Green Green Grass

BBC One sitcom about a London family moving to the country. 32 episodes (4 series), 2005 - 2009. Stars John Challis, Sue Holderness, Jack Doolan, David Ross and others.

Series 3, Episode 3 is repeated on Gold tomorrow at 12:20pm.

Series 1

1. Keep On Running

First broadcast: Friday 9th September 2005

Denzil calls about Boycie's house bringing news that the infamous Driscoll Brothers are being released early from prison and they're on the hunt for the supergrass who helped get them banged up. Boycie is horrified. By the time Marlene and Tyler return, he's sold the house, sold the car dealership and planned a new life in Shropshire.


2. A Rocky Start

First broadcast: Friday 16th September 2005

Determined to settle down to a quiet, village life, Boycie's first job is to sack the farm manager and ingratiate himself with the locals. Marlene is scathing - the farm has no animals and no crops - so what do these people do all day? But, undeterred, Elgin talks Boycie into starting a proper farm and their first priority is to buy a bull from a bankrupt local farmer who is fond of a drink or two.


3. The Country Wife

First broadcast: Friday 23rd September 2005

Boycie's 'bargain' purchase - Rocky the bull - arrives and much to Marlene's annoyance begins to make the place look untidy. Marlene sends Boycie out Blackberry picking - and while he's out he makes a new enemy.


4. Hay Fever

First broadcast: Friday 30th September 2005

Marlene allows Boycie to buy a maximum of six cows for the farm - and is less than impressed when Elgin, Jed and Bryan turn up with a herd of 300. The vet is called out when bull Rocky fails to take any notice of the females, and Tyler prepares to sit a local private school's entrance exam.


5. Pillow Talk

First broadcast: Friday 7th October 2005

Boycie struggles to come to terms with the news that his prize bull is gay, and Marlene finds she's missing the noise of the city after suffering sleepless nights. Tyler is delighted to learn he's failed all but two of his GCSEs, thinking he'll no longer be accepted into private school - but his parents have other ideas.


6. Sex And The Country

First broadcast: Friday 14th October 2005

Marlene discovers the farmhands concocting a virility potion for Rocky the bull, and manages to sneak a dose into husband Boycie's coffee. Tyler arouses suspicions when make-up is found in his room, and his parents are relieved to be told he has a girlfriend - until it transpires she's also his teacher.


Special: One Flew Over The Cuckoo Clock

First broadcast: Sunday 25th December 2005

Boycie and Marlene are invited to spend Christmas in Switzerland with some new friends they met at the Agricultural Ball to discuss a new business venture. Is this the entrance to High Society that they are looking for? However, nothing goes to plan and they miss the surprise laid on for them by old friends.


Series 1 Products