The Detectives. Image shows from L to R: Dave Briggs (Robert Powell), Bob Louis (Jasper Carrott). Copyright: Celador Productions
The Detectives

The Detectives

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1993 - 1997
  • 31 episodes (5 series)

Sitcom starring Robert Powell and Jasper Carrott as Dave Briggs and Bob Louis, the Met's most incompetent detectives. Stars Jasper Carrott, Robert Powell and George Sewell.

Episode menu

Series 5, Episode 4 - The Curse Of The Comanches

An ancient native American statue comes into Briggs and Louis's hands when the British Museum agrees to hand it over to the Comanche tribe. It's not long before very odd things begin happening: could it be cursed?

Broadcast details

Tuesday 4th February 1997
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Jasper Carrott Bob Louis
Robert Powell Dave Briggs
George Sewell Superintendent Cottam
Guest cast
Tony Selby Sgt. 'Nozzer' Richardson
Mark Steel Pike (Second Copper)
Dicken Ashworth Derek (Landlord)
Anthony Valentine Chief Gray Wolf
Tat Whalley T-Leaf
Stephen Marcus Fat Reg
Tim Stern Charlie
Dean Gatiss Shop Assistant
Lyndam Gregory Tony
Martin Beaumont Antiques Customer
Writing team
Steve Knight Writer
Mike Whitehill Writer
Production team
Graeme Harper Director
Jake Wright 1st Assistant Director
Nic Phillips Producer
Mark Sangster Editor
Andy Hamilton Production Designer
Susie Parriss (as Sue Parriss) Casting Director
Paddy Stern Casting Director
Rebecca Allen Costume Designer
Peter Morgan Director of Photography
Susan Ayling Make-up Designer
Keith Strachan Composer
Matthew Strachan Composer

Share this page