The Army Game. Copyright: Granada Television.

The Army Game

ITV sitcom about National Servicemen. 155 episodes (4 series), 1957 - 1961. Stars Geoffrey Sumner, William Hartnell, Michael Medwin, Alfie Bass and others.

Cast & Crew

Main cast
Geoffrey Sumner Maj Upshot-Bagley (Series 1 & 4)
William Hartnell Sgt Maj Percy Bullimore (Series 1 & 4)
Michael Medwin Cpl Springer (Series 1-2)
Alfie Bass Pte Montague 'Excused Boots' Bisley (Series 1-3)
Norman Rossington Pte 'Cupcake' Cook (Series 1-2)
Charles Hawtrey Pte 'Professor' Hatchett (Series 1)
Bernard Bresslaw Pte 'Popeye' Popplewell (Series 1)
Bill Fraser Sgt Maj Claude Snudge (Series 1-3)
Bernard Hunter Capt Pilsworthy (Series 1)
Ted Lune Pte Leonard Bone (Series 2-4)
Harry Fowler Cpl 'Flogger' Hoskins (Series 2-4)
Frank Williams Capt T R Pocket (Series 2-4)
C B Poultney Maj Geoffrey Gervaise Duckworth (Series 2)
Mario Fabrizi L/Cpl Ernest 'Moosh' Merryweather (Series 3)
Harry Towb Pte 'Cass' Dooley (Series 3)
Robert Desmond Pte Billy Baker (Series 3)
Dick Emery Pte 'Chubby' Catchpole (Series 4)
Writing team
Sid Colin Writer
Maurice Wiltshire Writer
Larry Stephens Writer (Series 1-2)
Lew Schwarz Writer (Series 1-3)
David Cumming Writer (Series 4)
Derek Collyer Writer (Series 4)
Production team
Milo Lewis Director (Series 1-2)
Max Morgan-Witts Director (Series 2-4)
Gordon Flemyng Director (Series 3-4)
Eric Fawcett Director (Series 4)
Graeme MacDonald (as Graeme McDonald) Director (Series 4)
Milo Lewis Producer (Series 1-2)
Max Morgan-Witts Producer (Series 2-3)
Peter Eton Producer (Series 3-4)
Eric Fawcett Producer (Series 4)
Sid Colin Creator

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers.

  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see Composer credits.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?