The Strange World Of Gurney Slade. Image shows from L to R: Sid Green, Gurney Slade (Anthony Newley), Dick Hills. Copyright: Associated Television.

The Strange World Of Gurney Slade

ITV sitcom starring Anthony Newley. 6 episodes (1 series) in 1960. Stars Anthony Newley.

Series 1

The Strange World Of Gurney Slade. Gurney Slade (Anthony Newley). Copyright: Associated Television.

1. Episode One

First broadcast: Saturday 22nd October 1960

Actor Gurney Slade walks out of a live television broadcast and goes wandering around the streets of London, engaging in fantasies and conversations with rocks, dustbins, and a dog.


2. Episode Two

First broadcast: Saturday 29th October 1960

Gurney ponders his lack of ability to talk to women, before conversing at length with a toddler.


3. Episode Three

First broadcast: Saturday 5th November 1960

After observing the habits of a common English ant, Gurney ventures into the country.


4. Episode Four

First broadcast: Saturday 12th November 1960

Gurney finds himself on trial after making an unfunny TV programme, charged with having no sense of humour.


5. Episode Five

First broadcast: Saturday 19th November 1960

Gurney tells a group of children a fairy story about a magic tinker. Before he knows it, they've ventured to Gurneyland...


6. Episode Six

First broadcast: Saturday 26th November 1960

As the series draws to a close, what is to become of the characters who've appeared in the previous 5 episodes? What will happen in 24 minutes' time?