The Story Of Variety With Michael Grade. Michael Grade. Copyright: BBC.

The Story Of Variety With Michael Grade

BBC Four documentary. 2 episodes (1 series) in 2011. Features Michael Grade, Ken Dodd, Roy Hudd, Peter Prichard, Maurice Sellar, Donald Auty, Dabber Davis and others.

Series 1

1. After The War

First broadcast: Monday 28th February 2011

Sixty years ago every UK town had a variety theatre. Michael Grade tells the story of this lost world.


2. Onto The Box

First broadcast: Monday 7th March 2011

What happened to the variety stars once the theatres closed and the cameras beckoned? Michael Grade tells the ups and downs of the variety stars on television.