The Rag Trade. Image shows from L to R: Harold Fenner (Peter Jones), Paddy Fleming (Miriam Karlin). Copyright: BBC.

The Rag Trade

BBC One and ITV sitcom about trade relations. 58 episodes (5 series), 1961 - 1978. Stars Peter Jones, Miriam Karlin, Reg Varney, Christopher Beeny and others.

Series 5, Episode 1 - The Annual Ball

The workers are preparing a new hand-stitched dress for Mrs. Fenner to wear to the prestigious annual Garment Traders' Ball, at which Harold is due to give the main speech. However, a careless driver sets the day awry and it's not long before Sylvia Fenner is on the verge of a full breakdown.

Broadcast details

Friday 8th September 1978
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Peter Jones Harold Fenner
Miriam Karlin Paddy Fleming
Christopher Beeny Tony
Anna Karen Olive
Diane Langton Kathy
Gillian Taylforth Lyn
Deddie Davies Mabel
Lucita Lijertwood Jojo
Guest cast
Joy Stewart Sylvia Fenner
James Appleby Driver
Writing team
Ronald Chesney Writer
Ronald Wolfe Writer
Production team
William G Stewart Director
William G Stewart Producer
Geoff Beames Editor
Andrew Gardner Production Designer
Lynsey De Paul Composer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • Details of when and where this episode was recorded
  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see casting director & lighting designer credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?