No Frills. Image shows from L to R: Molly Bickerstaff (Kathy Staff), Kate (Belinda Sinclair), Suzy (Katharine Schlesinger). Copyright: BBC.

No Frills

BBC One sitcom about three generations of women. 7 episodes (1 series) in 1988. Stars Kathy Staff, Belinda Sinclair, Katharine Schlesinger, Jan Ravens and Freddie Brooks.

Series 1

1. Episode One

First broadcast: Monday 5th September 1988

After the death of her husband, Molly Bickerstaff travels from home in Oldham to London to stay with her divorced daughter and 15-year old granddaughter.


2. Episode Two

First broadcast: Monday 12th September 1988

Suzy is shocked when her boyfriend proposes - all she was expecting was to go away with him for the weekend!


3. Episode Three

First broadcast: Monday 19th September 1988

Suzy's father makes a flying (and somewhat delayed) visit, American girlfriend in tow. She's quite impressed by his new lifestyle and visits to New York, but Kate couldn't be less amused.


4. Episode Four

First broadcast: Monday 26th September 1988

Whilst Kate struggles to get a cab and Suzy tries to go to her mime class, Molly's friend Nellie has come to visit, and so they are spending the day in London, seeing all of the sights - and arguing with plenty of the locals!


5. Episode Five

First broadcast: Monday 3rd October 1988

Molly encourages Kate to place an advert in the local newspaper's dating column. A divorcee, Garth, sends her a reply and they go out for a meal at a nearby restaurant. He's nice enough, but is he Kate's 'type'...?


6. Episode Six

First broadcast: Monday 10th October 1988

Faced with the opportunity of a promotion, Kate is loaned a new video camera to prove she can handle new technology. When Suzy demands to be allowed a post-exams party the following weekend, inspiration hits...


7. Episode Seven

First broadcast: Monday 17th October 1988

Kate, Molly and Suzy go on holiday. None are particularly enjoying the break; but Molly suddenly seems to have found romance.