British Comedy Guide
Please consider donating to help British Comedy Guide produce quality comedy coverage. Thank you. Find out more
Nixon's The One. Image shows from L to R: Henry Kissinger (Henry Goodman), President Richard Nixon (Harry Shearer). Copyright: Hat Trick Productions
Nixon's The One

Nixon's The One

  • TV comedy drama
  • Sky Arts
  • 2012 - 2014
  • 6 episodes (1 series)

Comic series revealing the tragic and humourous reality of the White House during 'I am not a crook' Richard Nixon's time as President. Stars David Frost, Harry Shearer and Demetri Goritsas.


Episode menu

Series 1, Episode 2 - Secrets

President Nixon turns his attention to the problem of J Edgar Hoover.

Further details

Nixon's The One. Copyright: Hat Trick Productions

President Nixon turns his attention to the problem of J Edgar Hoover.

Introduced by the late David Frost, who offers an insight into Nixon's mistrustful nature and obsession with information gathering, Nixon meets with Chief of Staff HR 'Bob' Haldeman, Chief Domestic Advisor John D Ehrlichman and Attorney General John Mitchell to share his frank opinion of Hoover and discuss potential successors to the FBI director.

Drawing on real conversations recorded via the secret taping system Nixon had installed in his office, the President's paranoia over the power held by intelligence agencies also becomes clear as he speaks of his concerns with Director of Central Intelligence Richard Helms.

Further clumsy and bizarre conversations include a discussion with Haldeman over the type of people who make the best spies, a chat with Secretary of the Treasury John Connolly about the antics of his predecessor Lyndon Johnson and talks with this secretary Rose Mary Woods about possible new personnel for his second term.

Broadcast details

Thursday 6th February 2014
Sky Arts
30 minutes

Cast & crew

David Frost (as Sir David Frost) Host / Presenter
Harry Shearer President Richard Nixon
Demetri Goritsas H.R. 'Bob' Haldeman
Guest cast
Nancy Crane Rose Mary Woods
Corey Johnson John D. Ehrlichman
Geoffrey McGivern (as Geoff McGivern) John Mitchell
Ian Porter Richard Helms
Charles Daish John Connally
Tony Denman Steve Bull
Writing team
Harry Shearer Writer
Stanley Kutler Writer
Production team
Sasha Ransome Director
Alex Walsh-Taylor Producer
Lucy Lumsden Executive Producer
Jimmy Mulville Executive Producer
Harry Shearer Executive Producer
Jon Mountague Executive Producer
Mark Lawrence Editor
Mark Williams Editor
Graeme Story Production Designer
Judith Owen Composer

Share this page