British Comedy Awards 2011 winners announced

Friday 16th December 2011, 11:13pm

The British Comedy Awards. Jonathan Ross. Copyright: Unique Productions / CPL Productions.The 22nd annual British Comedy Awards have taken place in London tonight.

The premier awards for the broadcast comedy industry, the ceremony was hosted by Jonathan Ross and took place at Wembley's Fountain Studios. It was broadcast live on Channel 4 from 9pm this evening, with the last two awards in an additional E4 Live Lock-In programme.

There were no big winners on the night, with Miranda Hart picking up just one of the four gongs she was nominated for (Best TV Comedy Actress). Lee Evans picked up the Channel 4 Award For Special Contribution To Comedy, and Armando Iannucci was awarded the Writers' Guild Of Great Britain's special title.

However, proud comic 'outsider' Stewart Lee picked up two awards - personally, as Best Male TV Comic, and Best Comedy Entertainment Programme for Stewart Lee's Comedy Vehicle. He was unable to attend the ceremony but accepted the titles by pre-recorded video message.

The full list of nominees and winners are as follows (winners in bold).

Best New Comedy

Fresh Meat. Image shows from L to R: Oregon (Charlotte Ritchie), Josie (Kimberley Nixon), Kingsley (Joe Thomas), JP (Jack Whitehall), Howard (Greg McHugh). Copyright: Objective Productions / Lime Pictures.Fresh Meat

Friday Night Dinner


Twenty Twelve

Best Comedy Entertainment Personality

The Graham Norton Show. Graham Norton. Copyright: So Television.Alan Carr

Charlie Brooker

Harry Hill

Graham Norton

Best Sitcom

Twenty Twelve. Image shows from L to R: Siobhan Sharpe (Jessica Hynes), Ian Fletcher (Hugh Bonneville), Sally Owen (Olivia Colman), Kay Hope (Amelia Bullmore). Copyright: BBC.Friday Night Dinner


Peep Show

Twenty Twelve

Outstanding Achievement In Comedy

The Inbetweeners. Image shows from L to R: Will Mackenzie (Simon Bird), Neil Sutherland (Blake Harrison), Jay Cartwright (James Buckley), Simon Cooper (Joe Thomas). Copyright: Bwark Productions.
The Inbetweeners / The Inbetweeners Movie

Best TV Comedy Actress

Miranda. Miranda (Miranda Hart). Copyright: BBC.Claire Skinner (Outnumbered)

Miranda Hart (Miranda)

Dawn French (Psychoville)

Tamsin Greig (Friday Night Dinner)

Best Male TV Comic

Stewart Lee's Comedy Vehicle. Stewart Lee. Copyright: BBC.Charlie Brooker

Harry Hill

Rob Brydon

Stewart Lee

Lifetime Achievement Award

Have I Got News For You. Image shows from L to R: Ian Hislop, Paul Merton. Copyright: BBC / Hat Trick Productions.
Have I Got News For You

Best TV Comedy Actor

Spy. Tim (Darren Boyd). Copyright: Hat Trick Productions.Jack Whitehall (Fresh Meat)

Hugh Dennis (Outnumbered)

Darren Boyd (Spy)

Hugh Bonneville (Twenty Twelve)

King Or Queen Of Comedy Award

Sarah Millican.
David Mitchell
Graham Norton
Jack Whitehall
Jo Brand
Miranda Hart
Sarah Millican

Best Comedy Panel Show

Shooting Stars. Image shows from L to R: Vic Reeves, Bob Mortimer. Copyright: Channel X / Pett Productions.Celebrity Juice

Have I Got News For You

Shooting Stars

Would I Lie To You?

Best Comedy Entertainment Programme

Stewart Lee's Comedy Vehicle. Stewart Lee. Copyright: BBC.Alan Carr: Chatty Man

Harry Hill's TV Burp

An Idiot Abroad

Stewart Lee's Comedy Vehicle

Writers' Guild Of Great Britain Award

Armando Iannucci.
Armando Iannucci

Best Female TV Comic

The Angina Monologues. Victoria Wood. Copyright: Phil McIntyre Entertainment.Jo Brand

Miranda Hart

Sarah Millican

Victoria Wood

Best Comedy Breakthrough Artist

Shooting Stars. Angelos Epithemiou (Dan Skinner). Copyright: Channel X / Pett Productions.Dan Skinner (as Angelos Epithemiou)

Greg Davies

Micky Flanagan

Tom Rosenthal

Channel 4 Award For Special Contribution To Comedy

Lee Evans: Access All Arenas. Lee Evans.
Lee Evans

Best Comedy Drama

Psychoville. Image shows from L to R: Joy Aston (Dawn French), Oscar Lomax (Steve Pemberton), Mr Jelly (Reece Shearsmith), Robert Greenspan (Jason Tompkins), David Sowerbutts (Steve Pemberton), Maureen Sowerbutts (Reece Shearsmith). Copyright: BBC.The Comic Strip (The Hunt For Tony Blair)

Fresh Meat



Best Sketch Show

Horrible Histories. Image shows from L to R: Jim Howick, Laurence Rickard, Mathew Baynton, Simon Farnaby, Martha Howe-Douglas. Copyright: Lion Television / Citrus Television.Come Fly With Me

Horrible Histories

The One Ronnie

This Is Jinsy

Related Guides

Latest news