British Comedy Guide

Please consider donating to help British Comedy Guide produce quality comedy coverage. Thank you. Find out more

Broadcast Awards 2023 comedy nominees revealed

Monday 28th November 2022, 3:08pm

The nominees for the Broadcast Awards 2023 have been revealed. Organised by the TV trade magazine, the much sought-after prizes feature a number of comedy-related shows in the shortlists.

Best Comedy Programme

Am I Being Unreasonable?. Image shows from L to R: Jen (Selin Hizli), Nic (Daisy May Cooper)

Am I Being Unreasonable?

Big Boys. Image shows left to right: Jack (Dylan Llewellyn), Danny (Jon Pointing)

Big Boys

Cheaters. Image shows from L to R: Zack (Jack Fox), Fola (Susan Wokoma), Esther (Callie Cooke), Josh (Joshua McGuire)


Derry Girls. Image shows from L to R: Michelle Mallon (Jamie-Lee O'Donnell), James Maguire (Dylan Llewellyn), Erin Quinn (Saoirse-Monica Jackson), Orla McCool (Louisa Harland), Clare Devlin (Nicola Coughlan). Copyright: Hat Trick Productions

Derry Girls

Stath Lets Flats. Stath (Jamie Demetriou). Copyright: Roughcut Television

Stath Lets Flats

Wedding Season. Credit: Disney+

Wedding Season

Am I Being Unreasonable?, the comedy drama created by and starring Daisy May Cooper and Selin Hizli, is also up for Best Original Programme. The category also features Channel 4's new animated comedy Don't Hug Me I'm Scared amongst the six contenders.

Meanwhile, in the Best Entertainment Programme category, Big Zuu's Big Eats and The Lateish Show With Mo Gilligan have been shortlisted alongside Gogglebox, Life & Rhymes, Strictly Come Dancing and Lee Mack's quiz show The 1% Club. Big Eats is also selected in the Best Multichannel Programme category.

Elsewhere in the nominations, the comedy dramas Bad Sisters, Landscapers and This Is Going To Hurt appear alongside The Responder, Thief and Top Boy in the Drama category.

The Flight Before Christmas special of Shaun The Sheep has received a nod in the Best Children's Programme section, whilst Rosie Jones format Trip Hazard is amongst the Best Popular Factual Programme selections.

The results will be announced at a ceremony on the evening of 8 February 2023.

Share this page