British Comedy Awards 2011 - Nominations announced

Sunday 11th December 2011, 11:59pm

The British Comedy Awards. Copyright: Unique Productions / CPL Productions

The nominees for the British Comedy Awards 2011 have been announced tonight.

There are multiple nominations for Stewart Lee, Harry Hill, new Channel 4 comedies Fresh Meat and Friday Night Dinner, plus last year's big winner - Miranda Hart and her hit sitcom.

Also of note is that kids' sketch show Horrible Histories has been nominated against adult-aimed series for the second year in a row and, embarrassingly for the BBC, Shooting Stars and Psychoville have both been nominated - programmes that the corporation has now cancelled.

It is also noticeable that flagship digital station BBC Three failed to get a single nomination for any of its series, despite having popular and strong contenders such as White Van Man, Ideal and Russell Howard's Good News in its stable. The BBC as a whole has netted 11 nominations, with Channel 4 and E4 on a combined 8. Meanwhile, ITV shows have bagged 2 nominations, and Sky have 3.

The full list of nominations are as follows:

Best Sitcom

Friday Night Dinner


Peep Show

Twenty Twelve

Best Panel Show

Celebrity Juice

Have I Got News For You

Shooting Stars

Would I Lie To You?

Best Comedy Entertainment

Alan Carr: Chatty Man

Harry Hill's TV Burp

An Idiot Abroad

Stewart Lee's Comedy Vehicle

Best Sketch Show

Come Fly With Me

Horrible Histories

The One Ronnie

This Is Jinsy

Best Comedy Drama

The Comic Strip (The Hunt For Tony Blair)

Fresh Meat



Best New Comedy

Fresh Meat

Friday Night Dinner


Twenty Twelve

Best Male TV Comic

Charlie Brooker

Harry Hill

Rob Brydon

Stewart Lee

Best Female TV Comic

Jo Brand

Miranda Hart

Sarah Millican

Victoria Wood

Best Comedy Entertainment Personality

Alan Carr

Charlie Brooker

Harry Hill

Graham Norton

Best Comedy Actor

Jack Whitehall (Fresh Meat)

Hugh Dennis (Outnumbered)

Darren Boyd (Spy)

Hugh Bonneville (Twenty Twelve)

Best Comedy Actress

Claire Skinner (Outnumbered)

Miranda Hart (Miranda)

Dawn French (Psychoville)

Tamsin Greig (Friday Night Dinner)

Best Comedy Breakthrough Artist

Dan Skinner (as Angelos Epithemiou)

Greg Davies

Micky Flanagan

Tom Rosenthal

The British Comedy Awards. Jonathan Ross. Copyright: Unique Productions / CPL Productions

The nominees for the King or Queen of Comedy Award - the category voted for by the public - have been announced previously. David Mitchell, Graham Norton, Jack Whitehall, Jo Brand, Miranda Hart and Sarah Millican are the comedians in the running in this category. Whitehall is currently being backed by The Sun newspaper, with betting odds stacked in his favour to win accordingly.

Eagle-eyed fans may note that some series - such as Miranda and Peep Show - have not broadcast new episodes in 2011. Their eligibility is due to the nomination window for each year closing during November; thus the 2011 awards cover a timeframe of 12 months beginning in November 2010.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony on Friday night hosted by Jonathan Ross (pictured). The show, to be held at Wembley's Fountain Studios, will be broadcast live on Channel 4 from 9pm. The two hour show will be followed by a 'Live Lock In' backstage show on E4.

Four special awards, including The Lifetime Achievement Award, will also be announced on the night.

Share this page