Edinburgh TV Awards 2022 nominees

Thursday 16th June 2022, 2:56pm

The shortlists have been announced for the Edinburgh TV Awards 2022, the awards run by the Edinburgh TV Festival. The comedy-related nominees are...

Best Comedy Series

After Life. Tony (Ricky Gervais). Copyright: Derek Productions

After Life

Mandy. Mandy (Diane Morgan)


Motherland. Image shows from L to R: Julia (Anna Maxwell Martin), Liz (Diane Morgan), Meg (Tanya Moodie), Kevin (Paul Ready), Anne (Philippa Dunne), Amanda (Lucy Punch)


Sex Education. Image shows from L to R: Eric Effiong (Ncuti Gatwa), Maeve Wiley (Emma Mackey), Otis Milburn (Asa Butterfield). Copyright: Eleven Film

Sex Education

Stath Lets Flats. Stath (Jamie Demetriou). Copyright: Roughcut Television

Stath Lets Flats

The Outlaws. Image shows from L to R: John (Darren Boyd), Frank (Christopher Walken), Myrna (Clare Perkins), Rani Rekowski (Rhianne Barreto), Christian (Gamba Cole), Gabby (Eleanor Tomlinson), Greg (Stephen Merchant)

The Outlaws

Best TV Actor - Comedy

Back To Life. Miranda (Daisy Haggard). Copyright: Two Brothers Pictures

Daisy Haggard (Back To Life)

Cuckoo. Rachel (Esther Smith). Copyright: Roughcut Television

Esther Smith (Trying)

Pete Versus Life. Pete (Rafe Spall). Copyright: Objective Productions

Rafe Spall (Trying)

Inside No. 9. Reece Shearsmith. Copyright: BBC

Reece Shearsmith (Inside No. 9)

Starstruck. Jessie (Rose Matafeo). Copyright: Avalon Television

Rose Matafeo (Starstruck)

Bloods. Maleek (Samson Kayo). Copyright: Roughcut Television

Samson Kayo (Bloods)

Best Entertainment Series

Ant & Dec. Image shows from L to R: Ant McPartlin, Declan Donnelly

Ant & Dec's Saturday Night Takeaway

Channel 4


Taskmaster. Image shows from L to R: Greg Davies, Alex Horne. Copyright: Avalon Television


The Graham Norton Show. Graham Norton. Copyright: So Television

The Graham Norton Show

The Last Leg. Image shows from L to R: Josh Widdicombe, Adam Hills, Alex Brooker

The Last Leg

The Lateish Show With Mo Gilligan. Mo Gilligan

The Lateish Show With Mo Gilligan

Elsewhere, Joe Lycett's Got Your Back, Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing's Christmas special and Rosie Jones show Trip Hazard: My Great British Adventure are nominated alongside 24 Hours In Police Custody, Long Lost Family: Born Without Trace and Uprising in the Best Popular Factual Series category.

The Best Drama category features comedy dramas Landscapers and This Is Going To Hurt, whilst Landscapers actor Dipo Ola, Ambika Mod from This Is Going To Hurt and The Outlaws star Gamba Cole are nominated alongside Danielle Macdonald in the Breakthrough Talent shortlist. Meanwhile the Breakthrough category for presenters features comedian Munya Chawawa.

The Climate Impact Award gives nods to the Precious Planet episode of Horrible Histories and the special Joe Lycett Vs The Oil Giant.

Joe Lycett also features in the Best TV Presenter category, alongside Graham Norton, Taskmaster hosts Greg Davies & Alex Horne, The Big Breakfast presenters AJ Odudu & Mo Gilligan, Extraordinary Extensions host Tinie and Life & Rhymes frontman Professor Benjamin Zephaniah.

The results of the Edinburgh TV Awards 2022 will be revealed on Thursday 25th August at a ceremony as part of the festival, hosted by Sophie Duker.

Share this page