Mortimer & Whitehouse launch Gone Fishing website

Thursday 7th January 2021, 5:11pm by Jay Richardson

Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing. Image shows from L to R: Paul Whitehouse, Bob Mortimer. Copyright: Owl Power.

Bob Mortimer and Paul Whitehouse have launched a comprehensive companion website for their Gone Fishing series, featuring location guides, music playlists and recipes for Mortimer's idiosyncratic outdoor cooking.

Launched ahead of the fourth series of the BBC Two show, which British Comedy Guide exclusively revealed in September, Mortimerandwhitehouse.co.uk also features synopses for each episode, GIFs and out-takes from the show, including a supercut compilation of Mortimer's falls.

The website also includes a full run-down of the programme's crew, and the accommodation at which the pair have stayed whilst on their fishing trips.

Alongside "heart-healthy" recipes for such singular dishes as Slippery Wilf's Cauliflower Base Pizza and Tuna Melanie With Trapped Potatoes for "two old farts", the food section features a video guide for making corned beef hash, which Mortimer signs off with "see you next time", suggesting there are more Gone Cooking spin-off instalments to come.

Speaking ahead of their recent Christmas special, Whitehouse reflected upon the rare connection that the show has made with viewers.

"Given the germination of the programme, we knew it was going to have a level that might go beyond our usual stuff," he told the Independent. "It resonates with people who've had illnesses and problems of their own. It's not just a couple of catchphrases and falling over, much as we liked that. We get some extraordinary communications. It's very touching."

Mortimer added: "It's a different experience. Instead of saying they enjoyed it, they thank us for the show, which is nice. It's age appropriate, too. Comedy is and should be a young person's game, constantly replenishing itself."

And he ventured that the next generation of comedy stars will emerge online.

"The way into comedy used to be Oxbridge, university, intelligence, satire and all that business. The daft lads, the genuinely funny lads, couldn't get into that loop. I expect there will be some crackers coming off the YouTubes and that."

A series abroad has been mooted but Whitehouse played down the possibility.

"We've talked about it," he said, "but I think one of the reasons Gone Fishing is popular is that the fishing is on our doorstep."

Mortimerandwhitehouse.co.uk


For updates, click the buttons below.

 

   

Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing - The Complete Third Series

Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing - The Complete Third Series

Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing Series 3 sees long-term friends and comedic royalty, Bob Mortimer and Paul Whitehouse, return to the riverbanks.

Across six episodes, this new series takes Bob & Paul to Scotland, Lea, Norfolk, Test, Somerford Lakes and Wye.

First released: Monday 2nd November 2020

  • Released: Tuesday 3rd November 2020
  • Distributor: Dazzler
  • Region: B
  • Discs: 1
  • Minutes: 180
  • Subtitles: English

musicMagpie Buy and sell old and new items
Search for this product on eBay

  • Released: Tuesday 3rd November 2020
  • Distributor: Dazzler
  • Region: 2
  • Discs: 2
  • Minutes: 180
  • Subtitles: English

musicMagpie Buy and sell old and new items
Search for this product on eBay

Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing - The Complete Second Series

Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing - The Complete Second Series

We follow Bob Mortimer and Paul Whitehouse once again as they fish side by side in some of the most stunningly beautiful locations in England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales.

Across six episodes, cameras will look-on as they dissect life & death against a backdrop of some of the prettiest places in the British countryside. Bob is still a keen apprentice and eager to learn how to catch fish while experienced angler Paul once again has his patience tested as he tries to teach Bob the rules of the river.

First released: Monday 7th October 2019

  • Distributor: Dazzler
  • Region: B
  • Discs: 1
  • Minutes: 180
  • Subtitles: English

musicMagpie Buy and sell old and new items
Search for this product on eBay

  • Distributor: Dazzler
  • Region: 2
  • Discs: 1
  • Minutes: 180
  • Subtitles: English

musicMagpie Buy and sell old and new items
Search for this product on eBay

Mortimer & Whitehouse - Gone Fishing

Mortimer & Whitehouse - Gone Fishing

Two comedy greats talk life, friendship and the joys of fishing...

Bob Mortimer and Paul Whitehouse have been friends for 30 years, but when life intervened, what was once a joyous and spontaneous friendship dwindled to the odd phone call or occasional catch up. Then, Glory Be! They were both diagnosed with heart disease and realised that time is short. They'd better spend it fishing...

So they dusted off their kits, chucked on their waders and ventured into the achingly beautiful British countryside to fish, rediscover the joys of their friendship and ruminate on some of life's most profound questions, such as: How did we get so old? Where are all the fish? What are your favourite pocket meats? What should we do if we find a corpse?

Following the success of the BBC's Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing series, this wonderful book by two lifelong friends is a love letter to the joys of angling, the thrill of the catch and the virtue of having a right daft laff with your mates. On the fish, the equipment, the food, and the locations, Gone Fishing is the perfect book for fans of Bob Mortimer, Paul Whitehouse and for anyone who wants to read a brilliantly written and endlessly funny joint memoir on life, friendship and joys of fishing.

First published: Thursday 30th May 2019

musicMagpie Buy and sell old and new items
Search for this product on eBay

  • Released: Thursday 28th May 2020
  • Publisher: Blink Publishing
  • Pages: 352
  • Catalogue: 9781788702942

musicMagpie Buy and sell old and new items
Search for this product on eBay

Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing - The Complete First Series

Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing - The Complete First Series

After life-changing heart surgeries, comedians and lifelong friends Bob Mortimer and Paul Whitehouse embark on a relaxing yet epic journey around Britain, eating great food and attempting to catch some of the nation's iconic fish.

First released: Monday 27th May 2019

  • Distributor: Dazzler
  • Region: B
  • Discs: 1
  • Subtitles: English

musicMagpie Buy and sell old and new items
Search for this product on eBay

  • Distributor: Dazzler
  • Region: 2
  • Discs: 1
  • Subtitles: English

musicMagpie Buy and sell old and new items
Search for this product on eBay

Related Guides

Latest news