Stath Lets Flats leads comedy results at BAFTA TV Awards 2020

Friday 31st July 2020, 8:22pm

The results of the BAFTA TV Awards 2020 have been revealed. The comedy-related winners are as follows:

Scripted Comedy

Stath Lets Flats. Image shows from L to R: Sophie (Natasia Demetriou), Vasos (Christos Stergioglou), Stath (Jamie Demetriou), Al (Alastair Roberts). Copyright: Roughcut Television.

Stath Lets Flats

Jamie Demetriou and the production team delivered their speech through a pre-created animation in the style of the sitcom's opening credits.

Other nominees: Catastrophe, Fleabag, Derry Girls.

Female Performance In A Comedy Programme

Fleabag. Claire (Sian Clifford). Copyright: Two Brothers Pictures.

Sian Clifford for Fleabag

Clifford, appearing on a live Zoom link, was visibly shocked to have been selected as the winner.

Other nominees: Gbemisola Ikumelo, Phoebe Waller-Bridge, Sarah Kendall.

Male Performance In A Comedy Programme

Stath Lets Flats. Stath (Jamie Demetriou). Copyright: Roughcut Television.

Jamie Demetriou for Stath Lets Flats

Demetriou, appearing via Zoom, thanked everyone involved in his sitcom for helping make the show a success.

Other nominees: Guz Khan, Ncuti Gatwa, Youssef Kerkour.

Comedy Entertainment Programme

Taskmaster. Image shows from L to R: Greg Davies, Alex Horne. Copyright: Avalon Television.


Alex Horne and Greg Davies accepted the award in a pre-recorded video.

Other nominees: The Graham Norton Show, The Last Leg, The Ranganation.

Entertainment Performance

The Lateish Show With Mo Gilligan. Mo Gilligan.

Mo Gilligan for The Lateish Show With Mo Gilligan

Mo Gilligan accepted the award via a live Zoom link.

Other nominees: Frankie Boyle, Graham Norton, Lee Mack.


Romesh Ranganathan.

The Misadventures Of Romesh Ranganathan

Romesh Ranganathan accepted the award with a home-made trophy and cardboard cutouts of his production team.

Other nominees: Joe Lycett's Got Your Back, Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing, Snackmasters.

Short Form Programme

Brain In Gear. Image shows from L to R: Boss Bitch Remi (Gbemisola Ikumelo), Remi (Gbemisola Ikumelo), Dark Remi (Gbemisola Ikumelo).

Brain In Gear

Gbemisola Ikumelo accepted the award with a new sketch.

Supporting Actress

The End Of The F***ing World. Bonnie (Naomi Ackie).

Naomi Ackie for The End Of The F***ing World


The End Of The F***ing World

The End Of The F***ing World. Image shows from L to R: James (Alex Lawther), Alyssa (Jessica Barden). Copyright: Clerkenwell Films.

Must-See Moment

Gavin & Stacey: the scene focusing on Nessa proposing to Smithy.

James Corden and Ruth Jones accepted the award via Zoom.

The results were revealed live on BBC One by Richard Ayoade.

The ceremony opened with Tim Minchin performing a song he wrote especially for the show:

Tom Allen hosted the backstage sections of the show, which were broadcast on social media. His interviews included Jamie Demetriou, Mo Gilligan, Sian Clifford and Phoebe Waller-Bridge, Naomi Ackie and host Richard Ayoade

During the broadcast, David Tennant and Michael Sheen reprised their personas from the sitcom Staged to introduce the award for best mini-series.

In The Long Run star Idris Elba accepted the Special Award. The full results across all genres can be seen at

At the BAFTA Craft Awards, which were revealed on 17th July, Jamie Demetriou won the comedy writing award, and Aisling Bea picked up the Breakthrough Talent prize.

Related Guides

Latest news