Aisling Bea & Jamie Demetriou pick up BAFTAs

Friday 17th July 2020, 9:42pm

  • The BAFTA TV Craft Awards winners have been announced
  • Aisling Bea picked up the Breakthrough Talent prize
  • The comedy writing gong went to Jamie Demetriou
This Way Up. Aine (Aisling Bea). Copyright: Merman.

The 2020 BAFTA Television Craft Awards have been handed out in an online ceremony.

Recognising the wide variety of behind-the-screens talent that goes into making television programming, this year's ceremony was held via an online stream amidst the coronavirus outbreak, and hosted by Stephen Mangan.

Comedy winners were Aisling Bea, who picked up the Breakthrough Talent prize for writing This Way Up, and Jamie Demetriou, who won Writer: Comedy for Stath Lets Flats.

Demetriou thanked his fellow Stath cast members and production team in response to his win, and sent in the following acceptance video:

Meanwhile, Bea dedicated her award to "my Dad, Brian, who didn't get to be any older than I am today, and for whom I wrote the show".

Additionally, Peep Show's Jesse Armstrong won the Writer: Drama prize for his work on US series Succession.

The other nominees in the Breakthrough category were Aneil Karia for directing Pure, Laurie Nunn for writing Sex Education and Responsible Child writer Sean Buckley. In the comedy writing category, Demetriou was picked ahead of Danny Brocklehurst (Brassic), Phoebe Waller-Bridge (Fleabag) and Sam Leifer & Tom Basden (Plebs).

Nicky Sargent and Vikki Dunn received this year's Special Award for running post-production house The Farm Group. Full results can be seen on

Below is Stephen Mangan's opening monologue:

For updates, click the buttons below.



Related Guides

Latest news