Britain's Greatest Comedy Character shortlist revealed

Saturday 2nd May 2020, 10:03am

24th May update: Alan Partridge topped the list. Results
Britain's Greatest Comedy Character. Copyright: Crook Productions.

A list of 30 characters have been revealed as the finalists for the TV show Britain's Greatest Comedy Character.

The list was picked by a public vote. The resultant programme, which will air on TV channel Gold on Sunday 24th May, will see the shortlist ordered by a panel of judges.

The top 30 are as follows, in alphabetical order:

I'm Alan Partridge. Alan Partridge (Steve Coogan). Copyright: Talkback Productions.

Alan Partridge (I'm Alan Partridge)

Da Ali G Show. Ali G (Sacha Baron Cohen).

Ali G (Da Ali G Show)

Open All Hours. Albert Arkwright (Ronnie Barker). Copyright: BBC.

Arkwright (Open All Hours)

Fawlty Towers. Basil Fawlty (John Cleese). Copyright: BBC.

Basil Fawlty (Fawlty Towers)

Blackadder. Mr. Edmund Blackadder, Esquire (Rowan Atkinson).

Blackadder (Blackadder)

Dad's Army. Captain Mainwaring (Arthur Lowe).

Captain Mainwaring (Dad's Army)

Last Of The Summer Wine. William 'Compo' Simmonite (Bill Owen). Copyright: BBC.

Compo (Last Of The Summer Wine)

The Office. David Brent (Ricky Gervais).

David Brent (The Office)

Only Fools And Horses. Del (David Jason).

Del Boy (Only Fools And Horses)

Father Ted. Father Ted Crilly (Dermot Morgan). Copyright: Hat Trick Productions.

Father Ted (Father Ted)

Fleabag. Fleabag (Phoebe Waller-Bridge). Copyright: Two Brothers Pictures.

Fleabag (Fleabag

Porridge. Fletcher (Ronnie Barker). Copyright: BBC.

Fletcher (Porridge)

Some Mothers Do 'Ave 'Em. Frank Spencer (Michael Crawford). Copyright: BBC.

Frank Spencer (Some Mothers Do 'Ave 'Em)

The Vicar Of Dibley. Geraldine Grainger (Dawn French). Copyright: Tiger Aspect Productions.

Geraldine Granger (The Vicar Of Dibley)

Hancock's Half Hour. Anthony Aloysius St John Hancock (Tony Hancock). Copyright: BBC.

Hancock (Hancock's Half Hour)

Keeping Up Appearances. Hyacinth Bucket (Patricia Routledge).

Hyacinth Bucket (Keeping Up Appearances)

The Thick Of It. Malcolm Tucker (Peter Capaldi). Copyright: BBC.

Malcolm Tucker (The Thick Of It)

The Good Life. Margo Leadbetter (Penelope Keith). Copyright: BBC.

Margo Leadbetter (The Good Life)

Ever Decreasing Circles. Martin Bryce (Richard Briers). Copyright: BBC.

Martin Bryce (Ever Decreasing Circles)

Miranda. Miranda (Miranda Hart). Copyright: BBC.

Miranda (Miranda)

Mr. Bean. Mr. Bean (Rowan Atkinson).

Mr Bean (Mr. Bean)

Mrs. Brown's Boys. Agnes Brown (Brendan O'Carroll).

Mrs Brown (Mrs. Brown's Boys)

The Mrs Merton Show. Mrs Merton (Caroline Aherne). Copyright: Granada Productions.

Mrs Merton (The Mrs Merton Show)

Gavin & Stacey. Nessa (Ruth Jones).

Nessa Jenkins (Gavin & Stacey)

Absolutely Fabulous. Patsy (Joanna Lumley).

Patsy Stone (Absolutely Fabulous)

Kevin & Perry Go Large. Perry (Kathy Burke). Copyright: Tiger Aspect Productions.

Perry (Harry Enfield's Television Programme)

The Young Ones. Rick (Rik Mayall). Copyright: BBC.

Rick (The Young Ones)

Rising Damp. Rupert Rigsby (Leonard Rossiter). Copyright: Yorkshire Television.

Rigsby (Rising Damp)

Yes Minister. Sir Humphrey Appleby (Nigel Hawthorne). Copyright: BBC.

Sir Humphrey Appleby (Yes, Minister)

One Foot In The Grave. Victor Meldrew (Richard Wilson). Copyright: BBC.

Victor Meldrew (One Foot In The Grave)

The show has been made by the same team which compiled 2019's special Britain's Greatest Comedian.

Britain's Greatest Comedy Character. Image shows from L to R: Shappi Khorsandi, Peter Egan, Nina Wadia, David Quantick, Lucy Beaumont, Sally Phillips, Grace Dent, Emily Atack, Marcus Brigstocke, John Thomson. Copyright: Crook Productions.

The three-hour programme will see "a star-studded jury battle it out as they attempt to agree on who is the country's greatest."

This time the jury, chaired again by actor and comedian Sally Phillips, features comedy performers Shappi Khorsandi, Nina Wadia, John Thomson, Peter Egan, Lucy Beaumont, Marcus Brigstocke and Emily Atack, writer David Quantick and critic Grace Dent.

Britain's Greatest Comedy Character will be shown on Gold on Sunday 24th May at 8pm.

Related Guides

Latest news