Comedies up for Broadcasting Press Guild Awards

Thursday 13th February 2020, 8:45am

13th March: Winners revealed

The nominations for the Broadcasting Press Guild TV Awards 2020 have been announced.

The BPG Awards 2020 - recognising productions commissioned or produced in the UK and screened in 2019 - are chosen independently by TV and radio correspondents, critics and previewers.

The comedy-related nominees are:

Best Comedy

Brassic. Image shows from L to R: Vinnie (Joe Gilgun), Erin (Michelle Keegan), Dylan (Damien Molony). Copyright: Calamity Films.


Derry Girls. Image shows from L to R: Michelle Mallon (Jamie-Lee O'Donnell), James Maguire (Dylan Llewellyn), Erin Quinn (Saoirse-Monica Jackson), Orla McCool (Louisa Harland), Clare Devlin (Nicola Coughlan). Copyright: Hat Trick Productions.

Derry Girls

Fleabag. Fleabag (Phoebe Waller-Bridge). Copyright: Two Brothers Pictures.


Gavin & Stacey. Image shows from L to R: Smithy (James Corden), Stacey (Joanna Page), Gavin (Mathew Horne), Nessa (Ruth Jones). Copyright: Baby Cow Productions.

Gavin & Stacey

Mum. Cathy (Lesley Manville).


Best Entertainment

The Graham Norton Show. Graham Norton. Copyright: So Television.

The Graham Norton Show

Michael McIntyre's Big Show. Michael McIntyre. Copyright: Hungry McBear.

Michael McIntyre's Big Show

Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing. Image shows from L to R: Paul Whitehouse, Bob Mortimer. Copyright: Owl Power.

Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing

RuPauls Drag Race UK. RuPaul Charles.

RuPaul's Drag Race UK

Taskmaster. Image shows from L to R: Greg Davies, Alex Horne. Copyright: Avalon Television.


Additionally, Lesley Manville is up for Best Actress for her role in Mum; Andrew Scott (Fleabag) and Ncuti Gatwa (Sex Education) are shortlisted in the Best Actor category; and Phoebe Waller-Bridge is up for Best Writer.

The dark comedy drama Guilt is shortlisted in the Best Single Drama/Mini-Series category.

The BPG Breakthrough Award category features The Crown's Erin Doherty alongside Ncuti Gatwa and Home star Youssef Kerkour.

The Broadcasting Press Guild was founded in 1974 and has more than 175 members. The results of the awards, sponsored by Virgin Media, will be revealed at a ceremony at Banking Hall in the City of London on Friday March 13th 2020.

More details and the full list of nominations can be seen at

Related Guides

Latest news