Comedies shortlisted for Broadcast Awards 2020

Thursday 21st November 2019, 9:25am

Taskmaster. Image shows from L to R: Greg Davies, Alex Horne. Copyright: Avalon Television.

The shortlists for the Broadcast Awards 2020 have been revealed, with a number of comedy shows in the running.

Best Comedy Programme

Derry Girls. Image shows from L to R: Michelle Mallon (Jamie-Lee O'Donnell), James Maguire (Dylan Llewellyn), Erin Quinn (Saoirse-Monica Jackson), Orla McCool (Louisa Harland), Clare Devlin (Nicola Coughlan). Copyright: Hat Trick Productions.

Derry Girls

Fleabag. Fleabag (Phoebe Waller-Bridge). Copyright: Two Brothers Pictures.


Inside No. 9. Image shows from L to R: Rev. Neil (Reece Shearsmith), Arthur Flitwick (Steve Pemberton). Copyright: BBC.

Inside No. 9 (Deadline special)

Mum. Cathy (Lesley Manville).


Stath Lets Flats. Image shows from L to R: Carole (Katy Wix), Stath (Jamie Demetriou). Copyright: Roughcut Television.

Stath Lets Flats

This Time With Alan Partridge. Image shows from L to R: Alan Partridge (Steve Coogan), Jennie Gresham (Susannah Fielding). Copyright: Baby Cow Productions.

This Time With Alan Partridge

Elsewhere in the list of nominations...

Taskmaster. Image shows from L to R: Greg Davies, Alex Horne. Copyright: Avalon Television.

Taskmaster is up for Best Entertainment Programme, up against Flirty Dancing, I'm A Celebrity, Love Island, Strictly Come Dancing and Top Gear.

Horrible Histories. Tom Stourton. Copyright: Lion Television.

Horrible Histories is listed in the Best Children's Programme category alongside FYI, Jamie Johnson Phoenix Reunited, Leaving Care, The A List and The Athena.

There She Goes. Image shows from L to R: Simon (David Tennant), Ben (Edan Hayhurst), Rosie (Miley Locke), Emily (Jessica Hynes). Copyright: Merman.

There She Goes has been selected in the Best Multichannel Programme category, with Bros: After The Screaming Stops, Emma Willis: Delivering Babies, Glow Up: Britain's Next Makeup Star, Jesy Nelson: Odd One Out and The Rap Game UK.

The Broadcast Awards are run by the TV-based trade publication. A full list of nominations across all categories can be seen on

The results will be announced at a ceremony in London on 5th February 2020, with Harry Hill as host.

Related Guides

Latest news