Comedies in the running for Edinburgh TV Awards 2019

Wednesday 12th June 2019, 5:32pm

The Big Narstie Show. Image shows from L to R: Mo Gilligan, Big Narstie.

The nominations for the Edinburgh TV Awards 2019 have been announced.

The awards, now in their 18th year, are run as part of the Edinburgh TV Festival. They aim to recognise "an original new concept or an established series which can be described as being at the top of its game." The shortlist was voted for by over 150 industry professionals.

The awards ceremony will take place on Thursday 22nd August, hosted by comedian Mo Gilligan, who is himself nominated twice in the awards, once as part of The Big Narstie Show (pictured), and also in the Breakthrough Talent category.

The comedy-related nominees are:

Best Comedy Series

Fleabag. Fleabag (Phoebe Waller-Bridge). Copyright: Two Brothers Pictures.


Famalam. Image shows from L to R: Gbemisola Ikumelo, Tom Moutchi, Roxy Sternberg, Samson Kayo, Vivienne Acheampong, John MacMillan. Copyright: BBC Studios.


Derry Girls. Image shows from L to R: Michelle Mallon (Jamie-Lee O'Donnell), James Maguire (Dylan Llewellyn), Erin Quinn (Saoirse-Monica Jackson), Orla McCool (Louisa Harland), Clare Devlin (Nicola Coughlan). Copyright: Hat Trick Productions.

Derry Girls

Catastrophe. Image shows from L to R: Sharon (Sharon Horgan), Rob (Rob Delaney). Copyright: Avalon Television.


Stath Lets Flats. Image shows from L to R: Carole (Katy Wix), Stath (Jamie Demetriou). Copyright: Roughcut Television.

Stath Lets Flats

After Life. Tony (Ricky Gervais). Copyright: Derek Productions.

After Life

Best Entertainment Series


The Big Narstie Show. Image shows from L to R: Mo Gilligan, Big Narstie.

The Big Narstie Show

The Last Leg. Image shows from L to R: Josh Widdicombe, Alex Brooker, Johnny Vegas. Copyright: Open Mike Productions.

The Last Leg


The Greatest Dancer

Britain's Got Talent

The full list of nominations across all categories can be seen on

Netflix's comedy drama Sex Education appears in the drama category alongside Patrick Melrose, Black Mirror: Bandersnatch, Brexit: The Uncivil War, Line Of Duty and Bodyguard. Meanwhile Mo Gilligan, Derry Girls actor Saoirse-Monica Jackson and Sex Education's Ncuti Gatwa are in the Breakthrough Talent list alongside drama actors Nabhaan Rizwan, Tamara Lawrance and Lola Petticrew.

Related Guides

Latest news