Edinburgh TV Festival Awards nominations announced

Wednesday 20th June 2018, 12:52pm

Nominees for the Edinburgh TV Festival Awards 2018: GameFace, Daniel Lawrence Taylor, Taskmaster. Image shows from L to R: Roisin Conaty, Daniel Lawrence Taylor, Alex Horne.

Nominations have been published for the annual awards at this year's Edinburgh International Television Festival.

The festival is one of the world-renowned Edinburgh arts festivals, taking place each summer in the Scottish capital. It will run between Wednesday 22nd and Friday 24th August this year.

Comedy nominees appear in a range of categories, with the acclaimed E4 series The End Of The F***ing World nominated for Best Drama.

Best Comedy Series

This Country. Image shows from L to R: Kerry Mucklowe (Daisy May Cooper), Lee 'Kurtan' Mucklowe (Charlie Cooper). Copyright: BBC.This Country

Derry Girls. Image shows from L to R: James Maguire (Dylan Llewellyn), Erin Quinn (Saoirse-Monica Jackson), Michelle Mallon (Jamie-Lee O'Donnell), Clare Devlin (Nicola Coughlan), Orla McCool (Louisa Harland). Copyright: Hat Trick Productions.Derry Girls

Car Share. Image shows from L to R: John Redmond (Peter Kay), Kayleigh Kitson (Sian Gibson). Copyright: Goodnight Vienna Productions.Car Share

Inside No. 9. Image shows from L to R: Steve Pemberton, Reece Shearsmith. Copyright: BBC.Inside No. 9

People Just Do Nothing. Image shows from L to R: Decoy (Daniel Sylvester Woolford), Steves (Steve Stamp), Grindah (Allan Mustafa), Beats (Hugo Chegwin). Copyright: Roughcut Television.People Just Do Nothing

GameFace. Marcella (Roisin Conaty). Copyright: Objective Productions.GameFace

Best Entertainment Series

Celebs Go Dating

Love Island

The Graham Norton Show. Graham Norton. Copyright: So Television.The Graham Norton Show

Taskmaster. Image shows from L to R: Greg Davies, Alex Horne. Copyright: Avalon Television.Taskmaster (Series 5)


Harry Hill's Alien Fun Capsule. Harry Hill. Copyright: Nit TV.Harry Hill's Alien Fun Capsule

Best Breakthrough Talent

This Country. Image shows from L to R: Kerry Mucklowe (Daisy May Cooper), Lee 'Kurtan' Mucklowe (Charlie Cooper). Copyright: BBC.Daisy May Cooper and Charlie Cooper (This Country)

Jack Rowan

Timewasters. Nick (Daniel Lawrence Taylor). Copyright: Big Talk Productions.Daniel Lawrence Taylor (Timewasters)

The Mash Report. Rachel / Emma (Rachel Parris).Rachel Parris (The Mash Report)

Letitia Wright

Other categories include Best Popular Factual Series and Best International Drama Series.

Nominated for Production Company of the Year are Big Talk Productions, CPL Productions, ITN Productions, Kudos, Studio Lambert and World Productions.

Best Specialist Channel nominees are BBC Four, Sky Arts, CBBC and CNN International; whilst the prestigious Channel of the Year prize is shortlisted for BBC One, BBC Two, ITV, Channel 5, ITV2, and the online-only BBC Three.

Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony to take place as part of the TV Festival's line-up on the afternoon of Thursday 23rd August 21018.

The eligibility window for the 2018 awards was programmes broadcast between 1st April 2017 and 31st March 2018. Full nominees and booking information to attend the Edinburgh International Television Festival can be found at thetvfestival.com

Related Guides

Latest news