BAFTA TV Awards 2018 - comedy nominees

Wednesday 4th April 2018, 7:48am


The nominations for the British Academy Television Awards 2018 have been revealed, with comedy shows and stars featuring in a number of categories. Notably, in a number of cases comedy partnerships have been split this year, with only one of a team nominated.

The nominations in full are:

Scripted Comedy

Catastrophe. Image shows from L to R: Rob (Rob Delaney), Sharon (Sharon Horgan). Copyright: Avalon Television.Catastrophe

Chewing Gum. Tracey Gordon (Michaela Coel). Copyright: Retort.Chewing Gum

This Country. Image shows from L to R: Kerry Mucklowe (Daisy May Cooper), Lee 'Kurtan' Mucklowe (Charlie Cooper). Copyright: BBC.This Country

Timewasters. Image shows from L to R: Lauren (Adelayo Adedayo), Nick (Daniel Lawrence Taylor), Horace (Samson Kayo), Jason (Kadiff Kirwan). Copyright: Big Talk Productions.Timewasters

Comedy Entertainment Programme

Murder In Successville. DI Sleet (Tom Davis). Copyright: Tiger Aspect Productions.Murder In Successville

Taskmaster. Image shows from L to R: Greg Davies, Alex Horne. Copyright: Avalon Television.Taskmaster

The Last Leg. Image shows from L to R: Alex Brooker, Josh Widdicombe, Adam Hills. Copyright: Open Mike Productions.The Last Leg

Would I Lie To You?. Image shows from L to R: David Mitchell, Rob Brydon, Lee Mack. Copyright: Zeppotron.Would I Lie To You?

Male Performance In A Comedy Programme

People Just Do Nothing. Chabuddy G (Asim Chaudhry). Copyright: Roughcut Television.Asim Chaudhry for People Just Do Nothing

The Trip. Rob (Rob Brydon).Rob Brydon for The Trip To Spain

Famalam. Samson Kayo. Copyright: BBC.Samson Kayo for Famalam

Detectorists. Lance Stater (Toby Jones). Copyright: Channel X.Toby Jones for Detectorists

Female Performance In A Comedy Programme

Motherland. Julia (Anna Maxwell Martin).Anna Maxwell Martin for Motherland

This Country. Kerry Mucklowe (Daisy May Cooper). Copyright: BBC.Daisy May Cooper for This Country

Catastrophe. Sharon (Sharon Horgan). Copyright: Avalon Television.Sharon Horgan for Catastrophe

Car Share. Kayleigh Kitson (Sian Gibson). Copyright: Goodnight Vienna Productions.Sian Gibson for Peter Kay's Car Share

Entertainment Performance

The Last Leg. Adam Hills.Adam Hills for The Last Leg

The Graham Norton Show. Graham Norton. Copyright: So Television.Graham Norton for The Graham Norton Show

Michael McIntyre's Big Show. Michael McIntyre. Copyright: Hungry McBear.Michael McIntyre for Michael McIntyre's Big Show

QI. Sandi Toksvig. Copyright: TalkbackThames.Sandi Toksvig for QI

Short Form Programme

This new category sees two comedies nominated alongside factual shows Britain's Forgotten and Eating with My Ex.

Morgana Robinson's Summer. Mel (Morgana Robinson). Copyright: Merman.Morgana Robinson's Summer

Pls Like. Liam (Liam Williams). Copyright: Left Bank Pictures.Pls Like

Other nominations

Michael McIntyre's Big Show. Michael McIntyre. Copyright: Hungry McBear.Michael McIntyre's Big Show is nominated alongside Ant & Dec's Saturday Night Takeaway, Britain's Got Talent and The Voice UK in the Entertainment Programme list.

The End Of The F***ing World. Image shows from L to R: Alyssa (Jessica Barden), James (Alex Lawther).Comedy drama The End Of The F***Ing World is up against Line of Duty, Peaky Blinders and The Crown in the Drama category.

The shortlists were decided by 250 jurors. The results will be announced on Sunday 13th May 2018 and shown on BBC One.

Host Sue Perkins says: "I had an absolute blast hosting last year's awards and I am genuinely thrilled to be invited back. It's a real pleasure to be the master of ceremonies once more, as we celebrate the very best in British television."

Kate Phillips from the BBC says: "We are so pleased that Sue is returning to host the Virgin TV British Academy Television Awards for a second year running. She is much-loved by our BBC viewers and I'm sure that she will once again provide us with a wonderfully entertaining evening."

The comedy writing category was previously announced in the BAFTA Craft Award nominations, with the writing partnerships behind the scripts for This Country, Peter Kay's Car Share, Catastrophe and Inside No. 9 nominated.

Black Mirror, Line Of Duty, The Crown and Three Girls lead the nominations when looking across all genres in the TV awards. Full list of nominations

Related Guides

Latest news