Car Share wins at National TV Awards 2018

Tuesday 23rd January 2018, 10:12pm

  • Peter Kay's Car Share was voted as best Comedy at the National Television Awards 2018
  • Meanwhile Ant & Dec collected three awards, and the Special Recognition Award went to Paul O'Grady
Car Share. Image shows from L to R: John Redmond (Peter Kay), Kayleigh Kitson (Sian Gibson). Copyright: Goodnight Vienna Productions.

Peter Kay's Car Share has won in the Comedy category at the National Television Awards 2018.

The BBC sitcom beat Still Open All Hours, Benidorm and The Big Bang Theory to the award, which was voted on by TV viewers.

Kay wasn't in attendance at the ceremony, having announced in December he was stepping out of the limelight and cancelling all his tour dates, acting work and TV appearances due to "unforeseen family circumstances". However, his co-star Sian Gibson was in attendance and picked up the prize on behalf of the programme.

Viewers had thought Car Share had ended in May as the four-part Series 2 was billed as the end of the show, however it was revealed in November the comedy would return in 2018 for a final special, as well as a bonus un-scripted improvised episode. Both of these were filmed at the same time as Series 2 so already exist, and thus - contrary to some reports - have not been cancelled alongside Kay's other work.

Ant & Dec. Image shows from L to R: Ant McPartlin, Declan Donnelly. Copyright: ITV.

Ant & Dec were once again the big winners at the NTAs. Ant & Dec's Saturday Night Takeaway beat The Graham Norton Show, All Round To Mrs. Brown's and Celebrity Juice to claim the inaugural Bruce Forsyth Entertainment Award. The popular duo, who also triumphed in the TV Presenter category and picked up the Challenge Show award for I'm A Celebrity this year, paid tribute to Forsyth when collecting their Entertainment trophy.

Meanwhile David Walliams was named best TV Judge for his work on Britain's Got Talent. Here is a video of him accepting his award, and joking about Simon Cowell in the process:

This year's Special Recognition Award went to Paul O'Grady, for his work presenting his documentary series Paul O'Grady: For the Love of Dogs.

For a full list of winners see

For updates, click the button below.


Related Guides

Latest news