Fleabag, Alan Partridge and more up for BPG and TRIC awards

Monday 20th February 2017, 3:56pm

17th March: Fleabag, Mum, The Graham Norton Show and Mid Morning Matters won in the BPG Awards. Full story
Fleabag. Image shows from L to R: Claire (Sian Clifford), Fleabag (Phoebe Waller-Bridge). Copyright: Two Brothers Pictures.

The Broadcasting Press Guild Awards and The Television and Radio Industries Club have separately announced their awards shortlists. Have I Got News For You, Celebrity Juice and The Graham Norton Show are amongst the programmes nominated.

In the BPG's awards, Alan Partridge's Mid Morning Matters, Motherland, Mum and Stewart Lee's Comedy Vehicle are nominated in the dedicated TV comedy category.

The BPG awards, now in their 43rd year, are chosen by journalists who write about TV and radio. The winners will be presented with prizes at an awards lunch at the Theatre Royal Drury Lane on Friday March 17th 2017.

The TRIC Awards, compiled by members of the television and radio industries, have been running since 1969. Their 2017 awards will be presented on 14th March.

Here are the British comedy shows in the running:


Fleabag. Image shows from L to R: Bank Manager (Hugh Dennis), Fleabag (Phoebe Waller-Bridge). Copyright: Two Brothers Pictures.

Fleabag creator Phoebe Waller-Bridge has been nominated in the Best Writer category in the BPG Awards, with the show itself in the 'Best Online First/Streaming' section.

Alan Partridge's Mid Morning Matters

Mid Morning Matters With Alan Partridge. Alan Partridge (Steve Coogan). Copyright: Baby Cow Productions.

Steve Coogan's show features in the BPG's Best Comedy category, and the show is also in the 'Best of Multichannel' category.


Motherland. Image shows from L to R: Liz (Diane Morgan), Julia (Anna Maxwell Martin). Copyright: Delightful Industries / Merman.

The BBC Two pilot features in the BPG's Best Comedy category.


Mum. Cathy (Lesley Manville).

The BBC Two series is shortlisted in the BPG's Best Comedy category.

Stewart Lee's Comedy Vehicle

Stewart Lee's Comedy Vehicle. Stewart Lee. Copyright: BBC.

Stewart Lee's stand-up series, which has been axed by BBC Two to the dismay of fans, is the final nominee for the BPG's Best Comedy award.

Richard E. Grant On... Ealing Comedies

Richard E. Grant On... Ealing Comedies. Richard E. Grant.

This Gold documentary series is amongst the nominees in the Best Documentary Series category at the Broadcasting Press Guild Awards. It is also nominated in the 'Best of Multichannel' category.

The Graham Norton Show

The Graham Norton Show. Graham Norton.

The BBC chat show has been shortlisted by the BPG in the 'Best Entertainment/ Factual Entertainment' category.


Taskmaster. Image shows from L to R: Greg Davies, Alex Horne. Copyright: Avalon Television.

Taskmaster, fronted by Greg Davies and Alex Horne, also feautres in the BPG's shortlist for 'Best Entertainment/ Factual Entertainment' category. Additionally, the format is in the 'Best of Multichannel' category.

A League Of Their Own

A League Of Their Own. Image shows from L to R: James Corden, Jamie Redknapp, Andrew Flintoff, Jack Whitehall. Copyright: CPL Productions.

The TRIC judges have nominated this panel show in their 'Sports Programme' category.

The Last Leg

The Last Leg. Image shows from L to R: Alex Brooker, Adam Hills, Josh Widdicombe. Copyright: Open Mike Productions.

The topical Channel 4 show's highly-praised coverage of the Paralympic games has resulted in being nominated in the 'Sports Programme' category of the TRIC Awards.

Celebrity Juice

Celebrity Juice. Image shows from L to R: Holly Willoughby, Leigh Francis, Fearne Cotton, Gino D'Acampo. Copyright: Talkback.

The ITV panel show is up against Made In Chelsea and TOWIE to win the 'Satellite/Digital Programme' category at the TRIC Awards. Additionally, show regulars 'Keith Lemon' and Holly Willoughby are nominated alongside Ant & Dec in the 'TV Personality of the Year' category.

Cold Feet

Cold Feet. Image shows from L to R: Pete Gifford (John Thomson), Adam Williams (James Nesbitt), Jenny Gifford (Fay Ripley), Karen Marsden (Hermione Norris), David Marsden (Robert Bathurst). Copyright: Big Talk Productions.

The successful return of the ITV comedy drama has seen it nominated in TRIC's 'Drama Programme of the Year' category, going up against Poldark and Vera.

Have I Got News For You

Have I Got News For You. Image shows from L to R: Ian Hislop, Paul Merton. Copyright: BBC / Hat Trick Productions.

The veteran BBC panel show is nominated in the TRIC Awards 'Entertainment Programme' section, facing Gogglebox and Saturday Night Takeaway.

Full list of BPG nominees

Full list of TRIC nominees

These award nominations follow a number of other TV-related awards involving British comedy programmes, including The Comedy.co.uk Awards, Chortle's awards, The Broadcast Awards and the Writers' Guild Awards.

Related Guides

Latest news