My Uncle Silas. Copyright: Yorkshire Television.

My Uncle Silas

ITV comedy drama. 9 episodes (2 series), 2001 - 2003. Stars Albert Finney and Sue Johnston.

My Uncle Silas - The Complete Series

My Uncle Silas - The Complete Series

Albert Finney stars as the eponymous loveable rogue in these nostalgic tales set in the rural heart of England at the turn of the last century.

Adapting H.E. Bates's semi-autobiographical short stories, My Uncle Silas charts the coming of age of a young boy, Edward, as he spends two long, hot summers with his great uncle in the village of Souldrop. While Silas instructs his nephew in the ways of country life he finds plenty of time away from the beady eye of housekeeper Mrs Betts to indulge in his two great loves, women and home-made wine - the combination of which constantly lands him in hot water.

Co-starring Sue Johnston, this set comprises both series and features guest appearances from Charlotte Rampling, Harriet Walter, Linda Bellingham, Annabelle Apsion and, in his last television role, Bryan Pringle.

First released: Monday 19th November 2012

  • Distributor: Network
  • Region: 2
  • Discs: 2
  • Minutes: 275
  • Catalogue: 7953785

musicMagpie Buy and sell old and new items
Search for this product on eBay