My Hero. Image shows from L to R: Janet Dawkins (Emily Joyce), George Sunday (Ardal O'Hanlon). Copyright: Big Bear Films.

My Hero

BBC One sitcom about a super hero. 52 episodes (6 series), 2000 - 2006. Stars Ardal O'Hanlon, James Dreyfus, Emily Joyce, Geraldine McNulty and others.

Series 4

1. A Sporting Chance

First broadcast: Friday 8th August 2003

Being a peace-loving Ultronian, George knows nothing about sport or the psychology of sport that drives men and women to thrash opponents to within an inch of their lives. So when Piers asks George to join his Sunday League cricket team to make up numbers George hasn't a clue what he's being asked to do.

In-depth Guide

2. The Living Dead

First broadcast: Friday 15th August 2003

Approached in the street by a salesman selling Life Assurance, George walks under a bus and kills himself in order to cash in his new lucrative policy.

In-depth Guide

3. Taking The Credit

First broadcast: Friday 22nd August 2003

George has not quite got the hang of managing domestic finances. Never having seen a Credit or Debit card before, he goes on a massive spending spree, mightily impressed with a Welfare State that literally gives him money to do so.

In-depth Guide

4. It's All In The Mind

First broadcast: Friday 29th August 2003

George is asked by the Ultron Council to write a progress report on humanity. All seems to be going well (apart from the French George is pleased with what he finds), until his mind-reading powers reveal the true nature of human thought.

In-depth Guide

5. Space Virus

First broadcast: Friday 5th September 2003

On a trip to Ultron to request some leave to take Janet and Ollie on holiday, Thermoman picks up a rather nasty space virus, which is fatal to humans. Unfortunately, on his return to Earth, Janet, Stanley, Ella and Mrs Raven catch it off him and Thermoman has to neutralise the virus with a Thermo-Kiss-Of-Life.

In-depth Guide

6. The Mayor Of Northolt

First broadcast: Friday 12th September 2003

A faulty streetlight outside Stanley and Ella's bedroom is keeping them awake at night, but getting the Council to mend it is proving impossible.

In-depth Guide

7. Big

First broadcast: Friday 19th September 2003

Ollie's half-human, half Ultronian physiology causes a few problems when he starts to grow at an accelerated rate. In 24 hours he grows from a nine-month-old baby into a 19-year-old boy with a 'serious' girlfriend.

In-depth Guide

8. The Consultant

First broadcast: Friday 26th September 2003

Arnie turns consultant when the Ultron Council sends him to check up on Thermoman's performance. Arnie conducts a Time and Motion study on George and demands that Thermoman be fully accountable for his actions.

In-depth Guide

9. The Family Way

First broadcast: Friday 3rd October 2003

When George becomes pregnant with a surrogate baby that he is carrying for a childless couple on Ultron, Janet is confused. What is her role now that George is a mother? And why does she feel like she wants to keep the baby when it is born, when her own Ultronian baby, Ollie, is such a handful?

In-depth Guide

10. Time And Time Again

First broadcast: Friday 10th October 2003

Groundhog Day meets Back To The Future as George and Arnie travel back in time to stop seven-year-old Janet from breaking her arm in a tree-climbing accident. Unfortunately their interference in the space-time continuum has catastrophic consequences in the future/present.

In-depth Guide

Share this page