My Hero. Image shows from L to R: Janet Dawkins (Emily Joyce), George Sunday (Ardal O'Hanlon). Copyright: Big Bear Films.

My Hero

BBC One sitcom about a super hero. 52 episodes (6 series), 2000 - 2006. Stars Ardal O'Hanlon, James Dreyfus, Emily Joyce, Geraldine McNulty and others.

Series 1

1. My Hero

First broadcast: Friday 4th February 2000

It's just an ordinary day at the Northolt surgery. Dr Piers Crispin, the publicity-mad TV doctor, still fancies Janet almost as much as he fancies himself, Mrs. Raven, the sarcastic receptionist, is still frightening patients and Janet's mother has dropped in to wonder why her daughter is bent on passing up such an eligible husband as Piers.

In-depth Guide

2. Guess Who's Coming To Lunch

First broadcast: Friday 11th February 2000

George Sunday has moved in with his new girlfriend, nurse Janet Dawkins, though why on earth she is attracted to the peculiar Irishman is beyond her colleagues.

In-depth Guide

3. Mission Impossible

First broadcast: Friday 18th February 2000

Thermoman is called upon to save Grimsby from being destroyed by an abandoned Russian space station. Unfortunately, he has his own domestic disaster to deal with first. He's got Marmite over the front of his Thermo-uniform.

In-depth Guide

4. Thermoman's Greatest Challenge

First broadcast: Friday 25th February 2000

Thermoman's repeated visits to the health centre to save Janet from a wasp sting or a spider are baffling patients and staff.

In-depth Guide

5. Old Man Riverdance

First broadcast: Friday 3rd March 2000

George receives a visit from his father, the original Thermoman, who now resides in the Dunrescuin' home for retired superheroes in Florida.

In-depth Guide

6. The Party's Over

First broadcast: Friday 10th March 2000

It's Janet's 30th birthday, but an earth girl hitting the Big 3-0 means nothing to the Ultron male. So when Janet says she doesn't want to discuss it and then changes her mind, poor George isn't quite sure what to do. As always, he turns to his cousin Arnie for advice.

In-depth Guide

Christmas Special: My Hero Christmas

First broadcast: Friday 22nd December 2000

George tries to get into the spirit of Christmas by creeping into the houses of Janet's parents, Mrs Raven and her boss Piers on Christmas Eve dressed as Santa to leave them all presents. This doesn't go down as well as he had planned, and Christmas dinner is a bit of a miserable affair - until George appears with the real Father Christmas who has a special present. for everyone.


Share this page