Love Thy Neighbour. Image shows from L to R: Eddie Booth (Jack Smethurst), Bill Reynolds (Rudolph Walker). Copyright: Thames Television.

Love Thy Neighbour

ITV sitcom about arguing neighbours. 54 episodes (8 series), 1972 - 1976. Stars Jack Smethurst, Rudolph Walker, Nina Baden-Semper, Kate Williams and others.

Series 2, Episode 4

The rivalry between Eddie and Bill reaches boiling point when, in the grip of sale-fever, they try to outwit each other in a desperate attempt to be first in the queue for the bedroom suite that their respective wives have set their hearts on. Strategy and vigilance is everything, so who is caught napping?


This episode is sometimes known as The Bedroom Suite.

Broadcast details

Monday 2nd October 1972
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Jack Smethurst Eddie Booth
Rudolph Walker Bill Reynolds
Nina Baden-Semper Barbie Reynolds
Kate Williams Joan Booth
Guest cast
Frank Williams Mr. Martin
Meadows White Nightwatchman
John Lyons Policeman
Writing team
Vince Powell Writer
Harry Driver Writer
Production team
Stuart Allen Director
Stuart Allen Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see Production Designer credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?