Love Thy Neighbour. Image shows from L to R: Eddie Booth (Jack Smethurst), Bill Reynolds (Rudolph Walker). Copyright: Thames Television.

Love Thy Neighbour

ITV sitcom about arguing neighbours. 54 episodes (8 series), 1972 - 1976. Stars Jack Smethurst, Rudolph Walker, Nina Baden-Semper, Kate Williams and others.

Series 1, Episode 6

Despite the fact that Eddie is a staunch socialist and Bill is a true blue Conservative, there are many subjects on which they both agree. For instance, they are both against discrimination. When Bill tells Eddie that he was once refused a drink in a pub because of his colour, Eddie's British sense of justice and fair play is outraged and he sets out to prove that the opposite must be the case, with rather painful results.


This episode is sometimes known as Refused A Drink.

Broadcast details

Thursday 18th May 1972
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Jack Smethurst Eddie Booth
Rudolph Walker Bill Reynolds
Nina Baden-Semper Barbie Reynolds
Kate Williams Joan Booth
Guest cast
Fred Emney Man in the Bar
Frank Thornton Barman
Harry Littlewood Charlie
Hazel Coppen Waitress
Writing team
Vince Powell Writer
Harry Driver Writer
Production team
Stuart Allen Director
Stuart Allen Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see Production Designer credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?