Love Thy Neighbour. Image shows from L to R: Eddie Booth (Jack Smethurst), Bill Reynolds (Rudolph Walker). Copyright: Thames Television
Love Thy Neighbour

Love Thy Neighbour

  • TV sitcom
  • ITV
  • 1972 - 1976
  • 54 episodes (8 series)

Pro-white socialist Eddie Booth is disgusted when a black couple move in next door - but far worse than his skin colour, Bill Reynolds is Conservative. Stars Jack Smethurst, Rudolph Walker, Nina Baden-Semper, Kate Williams, Tommy Godfrey and more.

Episode menu

Series 1, Episode 3

Eddie decides that Maple Terrace just isn't big enough to hold both the Booths and the Reynolds. But when he tries to organise a petition to "keep Maple Terrace white", his plans misfire - with hilarious results.


This episode is sometimes known as The Petition.

Broadcast details

Thursday 27th April 1972
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Jack Smethurst Eddie Booth
Rudolph Walker Bill Reynolds
Nina Baden-Semper Barbie Reynolds
Kate Williams Joan Booth
Guest cast
Terence Alexander Mr. Wilson
David Lodge Mr. Baxter
Charles Allen Little Boy
Writing team
Vince Powell Writer
Harry Driver Writer
Production team
Stuart Allen Director
Stuart Allen Producer
Frank Gillman Production Designer

Share this page