Love On A Branch Line. Jasper Pye (Michael Maloney). Copyright: DLT Entertainment Ltd..

Love On A Branch Line

BBC One comedy drama about a civil servant. 4 episodes (1 series) in 1994. Stars Michael Maloney, Leslie Phillips, Maria Aitken, Graham Crowden and others.

Win Love On A Branch Line on DVD

Love On A Branch Line. Image shows from L to R: Lord Flamborough (Leslie Phillips), Belinda (Abigail Cruttenden), Lady Flamborough (Maria Aitken), Jasper Pye (Michael Maloney), Chloe (Cathryn Harrison).

From 1994, David Nobbs's charming adaptation of John Hadfield's comic novel delighted audiences over the course of its brief, four-episode series.

Michael Maloney stars with Leslie Phillips, Graham Crowden, Abigail Cruttenden, Cathryn Harrison, David Haig and Stephen Moore amongst the cast.

A period comedy set in 1957, it follows a dull Whitehall civil servant sent to a Norfolk country estate to investigate the obscure, largely forgotten and overlooked Ministry of Information department that has been based there since the height of World War II.

Urged by his superiors to find cause to close down this far-flung outpost of government, the mild-mannered Jasper Pye is quickly intoxicated by the pace of life and curious ways at Arcady Hall, not least due to the presence of its eccentric aristocratic owner, Lord Flamborough, and his three beautiful and enchanting daughters: Belinda, Chloe and Matilda.

As Jasper gets to know the small department, Arcady, its inhabitants and the locals, he finds himself increasingly torn, and increasingly distant from the self he knew in London.

This delightful slice of country life, 1950s rural England and eccentricity will be released on DVD (RRP £15.99), and for the first time to rent and buy to download, by Second Sight on Monday 17th July 2017. Order from Amazon

Sorry, this competition is now closed.

Terms & conditions

This competition is open to UK residents only. One entry per household. The competition closes 23:59, 23rd July 2017. The winners will be contacted by email and will have 3 days to respond and accept the prize. Failure to accept the prize in the allocated time will result in a new winner being selected.