Keeping Up Appearances. Image shows from L to R: Hyacinth Bucket (Patricia Routledge), Richard Bucket (Clive Swift). Copyright: BBC.

Keeping Up Appearances

BBC One sitcom about a social snob. 44 episodes (5 series), 1990 - 1995. Stars Patricia Routledge, Clive Swift, Geoffrey Hughes, Judy Cornwell and others.

Series 1

1. Episode One

First broadcast: Monday 29th October 1990

Daddy is taken to hospital - quite inconvenient on the evening of Hyacinth's latest candle-lit supper.


2. Episode Two

First broadcast: Monday 5th November 1990

Hyacinth has asked the new vicar to tea and, in her usual meticulous way, she has organised the event down to the last sugar lump. But then suddenly, out of the blue...


3. Episode Three

First broadcast: Monday 12th November 1990

Hyacinth looks forward to soaking up a little culture at her favourite stately home, but first feels she must visit Daddy. Unfortunately, this week he thinks he's Captain Midnight!


4. Episode Four

First broadcast: Monday 19th November 1990

Hyacinth is at her wit's end, what with the charity shop, Councillor Nugent, Rose's love life - and Daddy's! Can she cope?


5. Episode Five

First broadcast: Monday 26th November 1990

Hyacinth's social standing at a church function is jeopardised when Daisy takes a toyboy and tries to encourage Onslow to become more ardent.


6. Episode Six

First broadcast: Monday 3rd December 1990

Hyacinth quite enjoys a family christening - except when it's Daisy's family!


Series 1 Products